146. Citizen Bar Lunch with an Old Friend

It’s Official!

I am now registered for my very first half marathon. There is no turning back now. August 1, 2010 I will be running the Chicago Rock n Roll Half Marathon. It would be a total lie to say I’m not terrified. The realization that it’s just over four months away is actually making me want to puke a little. It will definitely be a challenge since the longest distance I’ve run is about 6 miles, but I know I can do it. Despite the terror, I am very excited to knock this item of my “bucket list.”

In addition to registering for my first half, I’ve decided to put off completing a triathlon. I was planning to do a local, sprint distance triathlon on June 27th. However, my very good friend Emily is going to be staying with me June 24th through the 27th so that particular triathlon is not going to work for me. There is a Super Sprint triathlon August 28th, but I feel like that may be too close to the half marathon to realistically participate. I’m comfortable with the idea of postponing it until next year though. It will help me focus on half marathon training. There are a bunch of indoor triathlons in the area if I decide I don’t want to wait until next year. I could do one over the winter months.

My eats today were off my usual routine. I met my friend Heather for a late lunch which meant I didn’t take lunch at work. I ate a lot of snacks though.

Breakfast was an egg sammie that went unphotographed. I had a banana around 9:30 and an apple with some almond butter around 11:30.

I was surprised by how filling my apple and almond butter were. I didn’t get hungry again until it was time to go meet Heather.

Heather and I went to Citizen Bar. I had never been there (as is the case with most places in Chicago), but she said the food was good. It was also a great centralize location for us.

I really liked the vibe of the place. It had a definite indie feel to it. For lunch I ordered the Ashbury burger with a black bean burger rather than beef. Sadly, they were out of sprouts.

The food was great, especially for being bar food.

The company was even better. I love being able to meet up with friends I haven’t seen in years, and be able to pick up a conversation like it had just been a few weeks since we last spoke! We decided to definitely not wait another five years before we hang out again.

I’m making Chris some mac n cheese and then him and I are going to watch an episode of Buffy before I hit the hay.

G’night folks!

4 thoughts on “146. Citizen Bar Lunch with an Old Friend

  1. You will rock that half marathon! I remember being terrified of failing hard at my first and it was fine. I love that it’s on your bucket list :-)

    And I totally feel you about not having been to many places in the city. Even though I work downtown I hate when people ask me for restaurant suggestions. I so rarely go out to eat!

    • Thanks for the encouragement. Deep down I know I’ll do just fine, but it’s a really intimidating goal.

      Yeah, for someone who spent their entire life just outside of Chicago, I haven’t been to a whole lot of places. I had never even set food in the Sears Tower until I started my job (across the street).

  2. Pingback: 150. Fresh Start Monday « Girl Can…

  3. Pingback: 349. Marathon Monday: Week 6 | Girl Can

Leave a Reply

