160. Ugh! What a Week?! (and it’s Only Tuesday)

I’m putting together a recap post from the trip to my grandparent’s house, but I need to get the pictures off my parent’s camera before I can finish it. Hopefully I’ll get those tonight or tomorrow. Overall the trip was really good, but the return home has been less than pleasant.

My grandpa is not doing as well as we (and the doctor) had hoped so they ended up stopping this new round of chemo because it was gettting to the point where it was creating more problems than it was solving. They’re going to reassess in a couple weeks. Say a prayer or send some good karma his way. I’m sure he’d appreciate it.

Work has been crazy busy due to the fact that I was out Friday and one of my coworkers is on vacation this week. Also, we’ve had a couple training sessions the last two days as we’re switching to the new company’s time-clock and clearance systems. I spend 40 minutes training yesterday and 2.5 hours in training today. Needless to say, it’s been stressful trying to keep up with work let alone catch up!

I also forgot my lunch today which was a huge bummer. It wasn’t much, but I was really looking forward to it. I ended up going to Freshii and getting my usual.

And as if that wasn’t enough, the fun just keeps coming. Yesterday morning my friend Jennie’s mom passed away. It was by no means unexpected as she’s been battling a very rare and agessive cancer, but that doesn’t really make it suck any less. The services are Thursday so I’ll be attending those (and subsequently missing more work though that’s definitely not important).

Do you still maintain friendships withe people from high school? Further back then high school? What are some of your longest friendships?

I have to confess I’m part of the minority of people who go off to college but still maintain very strong, close ties to their high shool friends. Apparently this makes me some sort of anomaly, but I’m okay with it. I love my friends, and I love that we are always there for each other even after 10 years. I also love that no matter how long it’s been since we’ve seen each other we can pick right back up where we left off.

Finally, since I’m an eternal optimist, I’ve got to end on a few good notes.

Tonight is Glee night, and the newest Sookie Stackhouse (True Blood) novel was released today. I’m going to bike the 8 miles to and from the book store to get it this evening!

Hope you all have a fantastic evening!

2 thoughts on “160. Ugh! What a Week?! (and it’s Only Tuesday)

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your friends mom. :( And good thoughts will be sent out for your grandfather!

    I’m another anomaly! My best friends from 6th/9th grade are STILL my bestest friends and were my bridesmaids at my wedding. :) Even with us in different states we’re super close and can always count on eachother. Without them I don’t make sense! :)

    Hope everything is looking up soon!

  2. Pingback: 266. In Which Karma Reminds Me of my Mission in Life « Girl Can…

Leave a Reply

