220. Goals, Goals, Goals!: Dedicate

I’ve got some free time while I wait for my brother to build the countertop for my new vanity so I figured it’s probably time to start thinking about my New Year’s Resolutions and goals for 2011.

Generally speaking, I’m not a fan of NYRs.  In fact, several years ago, I made a New Year’s Resolution to stop making New Year’s Resolutions.  But I also think NYRs get a bit of a bad rap because people make bad resolutions.

“This year I’m going to join the gym and work out five days a week.”

“This year I’m going to lose weight.”

“This year I’m going to stop biting my nails.”

One thing I’ve learned in the last two years is that small changes are the most important element of change.  Trying to dramatically overhaul one aspect of your life overnight isn’t going to work.  You’re not going to go from couch potato to fitness rock star overnight.  You’re not going to completely cut your favorite foods out of your life, stick to your diet, and lose 50 pounds, or even 5 pounds, overnight.  It’s just not going to happen.

But at the end of the day NYRs are really just goals, and I love goals – even if I’m not always very good at sticking with them.   So this is the year I give up my New Year’s Resolution to give up New Year’s Resolutions. 

While considering my NYRs for 2011 and catching up on blogs, I read this post for the brilliant mind of Rachel Wilkerson.  I love her idea of choosing a verb for the year.  After a lot of consideration, I determined my verb for 2011 is dedicate.

Dedicate:

a : to set apart to a definite use <money dedicated to their vacation fund>

b : to commit to a goal or way of life <ready to dedicate his life to public service>

(Source)

I’ve never been very good at dedicating myself to things.  It’s my problem with sticking with goals.  I stick with things for a little while, but eventually I let them fall by the wayside.  It’s not that I quit.  I don’t necessarily even give up.  I just kind of…forget.

A lot of my goals for 2011 involved dedicating my time in a useful way.

Dedicate myself to my health.  This includes dedicating myself to the process of finally getting to my goal weight.  I’ve gained back enough weight that I’m starting to get uncomfortable with myself again. 

Dedicate myself to fitness and running again.  I’ve got two half marathons on the calendar already.  I love running, but when I fall out of the routine, it’s a huge struggle for me to get back into it.  I need to establish a solid fitness routine overall that incorporates yoga, strength training, running, and some cross training.  I cancelled my gym membership to save money, and this actually excites me.  I feel like I have a world of untapped fitness opportunities and my fingertips.

Dedicate time to myself.  I tend to fill my day to the brim with work, errands, boyfriend time, friend time, family time, and everything in between.  It’s a very rare occasion that I take time to just do nothing – my commute to and from work does not count.

Dedicate time to my blog.  I’m quickly becoming queen of the sporadic bloggers.  I want to grow my blog.  I want to be proud of my blog.  I want my blog to be awesome.  These things aren’t going to happen if I don’t set aside time to write quality posts and improve my blog.

Dedicate myself to organization and being an adult.  I’m not going to lie to you.  I’ve got a bit of Peter Pan syndrome.  During the last part of 2010 this started to change.  I finally feel like I’m ready to be an adult.  I’m definitely not there yet, but I want to grow into myself more throughout the next year.  This also includes dedicating myself to my professional development.

It’s giong to be a challenge, but I’m dedicating myself right now to making 2011 my best year yet.

8 thoughts on “220. Goals, Goals, Goals!: Dedicate

  1. Pingback: 222. A Cheesy Half Marathon Training Plan « Girl Can…

  2. Pingback: 226. Slow Cooker Saturday: Cornbread Topped Southwestern Potpie « Girl Can…

  3. Pingback: 235. Chocolate Banana Pancakes « Girl Can…

  4. Pingback: 249. Goals, Goals, Goals: March « Girl Can…

  5. Pingback: 337. 2011 in Review: Dedicated | Girl Can

  6. Pingback: 340. Goals, Goals, Goals: 2012 Verb | Girl Can

Leave a Reply

