222. A Cheesy Half Marathon Training Plan

So apparently, I forgot to announce the fact that I officially signed up for the Wisconsin Half Marathon I mentioned a while back.  Ooops! 

But with my first half marathon of 2011 quickly approaching (and by quickly approaching I mean it is exactly 4 months away.), I decided it’s time to dedicate myself to a training plan and fitness routine.  I’m starting training a little earlier than necessary to get myself back in the groove.  I’m using a mutant version of Hal Higdon’s novice training plan.  I’ll be posting the complete training plan on my training page once it’s done, but here’s a rough outline.

Monday – Rest
Tuesday – Training Run
Wednesday – ???
Thursday – Training Run
Friday – Rest
Saturday – Long Run
Sunday – Yoga

You might notice there are two things missing from my plan: 1) Strength training and 2) Cross training.  Sunday yoga will provide a little bit of strength and cross training, but not enough, and this, my dear friends, is where I need your suggestions.

Here’s what I know:  I want to incorporate at least three days of strength training in addition to Sunday yoga, and I need to include some amount of cross training other than yoga.  I would also prefer to have only three run days.

Here’s what I don’t know: What days should I do my strength training, and what the hell do I do for cross training?

I used to swim or do group fitness classes for cross training, but since I cancelled my gym membership, I no longer have access to these things.  I also like biking a lot, but I live in Chicago where we have this nasty little season called winter.  Biking will be an option again around come March or April but for now, not so much.

My concern with what days to do strength training stems from the fact that I don’t want to end up skipping run days because I’m sore from strength training.

Here are my thoughts:

  • I do speed work on Wednesday until it warms up enough that I can bike on Wednesday.
  • I do strength training on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday 
  • I do strength training on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday
  • I do some sort of circuit training style work-out DVD (think 30 Day Shred) on Wednesday and kill two birds with one stone.
  • Suck it up and get a new gym membership so I have access to alternate forms of cardio.

I’m open to any and all suggestions here so throw ‘em at me.  Ready, go!

6 thoughts on “222. A Cheesy Half Marathon Training Plan

  1. Pingback: 223. Girls on the Run Solemate « Girl Can…

  2. Pingback: 237. Apple-Pear Breakfast Risotto « Girl Can…

  3. Pingback: 248.A Fragmented Blur « Girl Can…

  4. Pingback: 338. Girl Will Run…A Lot | Girl Can

  5. Pingback: 349. Marathon Monday: Week 6 | Girl Can

Leave a Reply

