258. The Runs that Dreams are Made of

You know those days where everything seems to fall perfectly into place?  I love those days.  Nothing makes me happier.  Yesterday was totally one of those days.

It started with a pretty fantastic work day.  I was busy enough that the day flew by, but not so busy I was overwhelmed.  I won a few small victories which made my life much easier.

I was armed with my new I <3 Trader Joe’s Cookbook and the new issue of “Cooking Light” for my commute home.  That’s some quality reading material right there!

Where the day really started to kick ass though was once I got home.  I backed off on my training for the last week because my knees were bothering me.  I’m pretty confident it was nothing more than stress from “too much, too soon,” but I didn’t want to push it into the injury zone.  Yesterday I needed to get in my (minimum) 30 minute weekday run.  Since I didn’t do much running last week, I decided to try and get to 4 miles which would be between 40 and 50 minutes of run/ walk intervals.

Even after making the decision to go and knock out 40 – 50 minutes, I still had to force myself to get dressed and out the door.  It was chilly and wet out.  It was a little drizzly, and there was a chance for actual rain while I was out.  I don’t have a good running jacket for wet spring weather.  The jacket I have is more winter oriented.  I pretty much have to be naked underneath it once the mercury creeps above freezing or I get too warm while running.  I gave serious consideration to blowing off the run last night in favor of doing it today, but I decided to don a singlet under my running jacket and get going.

I could not be happier that I did!  That run that I wasn’t in the mood for ended up being one of the best runs I’ve had in month – possibly ever!  This was the kind of run runners live for.  I felt amazing physically and mentally.  I had no knee pain, and while my legs were a bit fatigued by the end, it was a good feeling.  I was 110% in the game mentally.  I was coming up to the 4 mile mark and decided I was feeling so good I wanted to keep going.  I hit 4.5 and started rounding my way back home.  I ended up knocking out 5 miles in just under an hour.  Even as I was approaching my house, I still felt great.  Mentally I wanted to keep going – try and get to mile six, but I decided to call it at 5 miles.  I hadn’t planned on running that far so I didn’t bring water, and I was starting to get hungry for dinner.  I also didn’t want to push my body too far and end up with hurting knees in the morning.  I felt so accomplished and encouraged.

I have to be honest; the knee pain was really starting to discourage me.  Taking even more time off from my training was starting to make me feel like I was once again going to be under-trained when my half rolled around.  Last night’s run totally revived me.  (It also reminded me that I need to get my ass back in gear when it comes to strength training.  I’ve been slacking on legs, and I could totally tell last night especially toward the end of my run.) 

As if my fabulous run wasn’t enough dinner made the night just as amazing!  After an conversation about omega-3’s with my BFF Laura, I decided I need more fish in my life – specifically salmon.  The problem is somewhere along the line, I stopped liking salmon.  I used to like it – especially salmon patties – then one day I just didn’t.  I don’t know if I was burned out on it, or I didn’t like the way more mom started preparing it and that ruined it for me as a whole.  In any case, I decided to give it another shot.

Thanks to an old issue of Women’s Health I was reading at the car dealership last weekend, I decided salmon burgers were the place to start.  I bought some fresh salmon at Trader Joe’s this weekend, and last night, I food processored my way to fresh salmon patties.

Now, I’m not saying I love salmon again, but if I had to start over somewhere this was the place to start!  I served the salmon patties on pretzel rolls from Trader Joe’s along-side these delicious parmesan crusted asparagus spears from How Sweet It Is.  All I can say is I’m pretty damn excited for leftover!

One thought on “258. The Runs that Dreams are Made of

  1. Pingback: 260. Goals, Goals, Goals: April « Girl Can…

Leave a Reply

