259. Get Your Veggie On in the Great Veggie-Of

Two days ago Laura and I were g-chatting about how we both need to seriously ramp up our veggie intake.  For me fruit is no issue.  I love fruit.  I can find fruit I love in every season.  Veggies on the other hand are a struggle for me – especially in the winter.  There’s a lot of veggies I don’t like (mushrooms, tomatoes, and celery to name a few), and I’m not particularly adventurous when it comes to trying new veggies.  So while discussing our pitiful veggie intake, I half-joking suggested her and I have a Veggie-Off in the month of April.  She whole-heartedly agreed, and the Great Veggie-Off was born.

Anyone is welcome to participate in the Veggie-Off next month, but for those of us with a bit of a competitive spirit, there’s going to be a more formal competition, if you will.  We thought it would be a good idea to add the elements of accountability and reward to the Veggie-Off.  Here’s the deets.

You’re Invited to The Great Veggie-Off!

 

Where: The Interwebs
When: April 1st – April 30th
What: Maximize your veggie in-take (without sacrificing other important food group and nutrients of course!).  Juice counts, but if it’s if a combo juice only the veggie portion counts.  Veggie pills and shots do not count.  It’s gotta be the real deal folks. 
How: She (or he) with the highest veggie intake wins.

There are the basics.  Like I said, anyone is welcome to participate, but if you want to be involved in the competition and have a chance at the prize you’ll need to know a little bit more so keep reading.

There will be a $5 entry fee which will go into a PayPal pool that will be managed by a non-participating third party – namely Laura’s dear friend Rachel from Boston No Common.  You will need to track your veggie consumption and report back on a weekly basis.  Here’s how you play the game:

  1. Leave a comment here letting me know you want to participate in the Veggie-Off Competition.  You must sign up and submit the entry fee by 11:59 CST on March 31st.  (Once you comment I will email you the PayPal info you need.)
  2. Every Friday (starting April 8th) I will post a “check-in,” and you will need to post your veggie consumption for the week.  You can do this by creating a blog post (or a tracking page) and linking it on the “check-in” post or if you don’t have a blog, you can email me your veggie log for the week.
  3. Since the USDA now does their recommendations in terms of cups of veggies, that is how we will measure.  I will be posting more about this, including examples, next week.
  4. At the end of the month, I will post the tally of everyone’s veggie consumption and announce the winner(s).  (Depending on the number of participants we might have a winner, a winner and runner-up, or a 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place.  I’ll update about that once I know how many people are interested.)

Obviously this is on the honor system.  I like to think all my wonderful blogger friends out there are good, honest people; so please don’t shatter my hopes and dreams. :)

3 thoughts on “259. Get Your Veggie On in the Great Veggie-Of

  1. Pingback: 260. Goals, Goals, Goals: April « Girl Can…

  2. Pingback: 261. A Veggie A Day? « Girl Can…

Leave a Reply

