273. Defeating the Dough

It all started innocently enough.  My grandma bought a nearly new bread maker from Goodwill and gave it to my mom. Since my mom already owned a bread maker and clearly didn’t need two, she decided to hand her old Breadman down to me.  (This is how I have acquired several of my small appliances including my KitchenAid stand mixer and my older-than-I-am food processor.  Oh and that crock-pot I returned to her a year later.)

I was pretty stoke to receive the old Breadman figuring it would play a vital role in helping me knock that pesky “get over my fear of making yeast bread items” off my Mission 101 and Culinary Bucket List.  I knew right away I was going to make it happen.  I went out and bought some yeast to ready myself for the task of making me some homemade bread.  The B-Man sat unused in my pantry nearly a month.

It all started innocently enough.  Nik wanted cinnamon rolls for breakfast one day.  I knew I couldn’t feed him those canned Pilsbury cinnamon rolls.  I harp on the whole “unnecessarily processed foods” thing way too much.  If I was going to do this, I was going to do it right: real foods from scratch.  I decided Easter Morning was d-day.

I used a very basic white bread dough recipes my mom gave me in the disaster that is my recipe binder.

White Bread Dough
Ingredients
1 ½ c warm water
2T butter, cut up into small pieces
4 ½ c all-purpose flour
¼ c sugar
2 t salt
1 T yeast

Do It

  1. In the order listed above, combined ingredients in the bread maker
  2. Set to dough cycle and start
  3. Relax until the bread maker is done

I rolled out the dough, mixed up some cinnamon, sugar and butter, spread it on, rolled it up, and sliced my way to some pretty awesome cinnamon rolls.  They were so good I ended up beingin the rest to Easter “dinner” (Is it still dinner at 1 in the afternoon?) to share the goodness.

Of course, I’m not sure one small cinnamon roll victory really counts as conquering my yeast dough fear. Like I said, it all started innocently enough.  Later that week, dinner plans with Nik were grilled pineapple and chicken sandwiches on pretzel rolls.  I had stowed away some Trader Joe’s pretzel rolls in the freezer a few weeks prior.  Unfortunately when I hadn’t noticed was these rolls had started molding prior to me getting them in the freezer.  Well, damn.

I remembered a few days earlier Jessica had posted a link to her pretzel roll tutorial over on Tasty Kitchen.  Bingo!  Now was the time for me (and B-man) to shine!  Whipping up homemade pretzel rolls at 6:00 on a Thursday night it totally normal, right?

I used the same white bread recipe to make the dough for the pretzel rolls.  Once the dough was finished I followed the method in Jessica’s post.  (By the way, they turned out absolutely amazing, and you should definitely make them soon!  I’ve never been a huge fan of pretzel bread, but I have seen the light.)

Since those pretzel rolls, I’ve used B-Man to make more pretzel rolls (this time in the shape of hot dog buns) and whole wheat cinnamon rolls while Laura was here to visit.  I also made pizza dough (more on that later) Monday night.

Thank to B-Man, I think I can officially cross   “get over my fear of making yeast breads” off my Culinary Bucket List.

Next up…homemade bagels, soft pretzels, and assorted experiments with the B-Man…

4 thoughts on “273. Defeating the Dough

  1. In the boondocks here in texas, or at a very southern occasion, dinner is lunch and huge and supper is a light meal in the evening. My opa used to eat just cornbread with milk poured over it for supper.

    Is your dough wicked sticky when you pull it out? How can I defeat this?

  2. Pingback: 291. Eat Homemade with the Odd Duck | Girl Can

  3. Pingback: 311. The Good, The Bad, and The Awesome | Girl Can

  4. Pingback: 320. Make It Monday: From Around the Web | Girl Can

Leave a Reply

