282. Make It Monday: Honey Wheat Sandwich Thins

Since overcoming my fear of yeast breads thanks to the help of my bread machine, I have been a maniac.  I’m actually pretty sure I’ll never buy bread again.  Okay, fine, I’m sure I’ll buy bread again at some point, but it’s not going to be very often.  I’ve made pretzel rolls in roll form, hot dog bun form, sandwich roll form, bite sized.  I’ve made pizza dough so tasty I’ve even stopped buying the pre-made whole wheat pizza dough from Trader Joe’s that used to hold the title of World’s Best Whole Wheat Pizza Dough.  I even started making loafs of bread for the boy to make sandwiches for lunch during the week. My latest venture, however, was Honey Whole Wheat Sandwich thins.

Last week I bought sandwich thins to use as buns for grilled portabella burgers (I’ll be sharing that recipe soon; don’t worry.) and for the boy’s sandwiches.  Frankly, I’m not sure why it didn’t occur to me from the very beginning to make them myself, but it didn’t.  I was looking at the lone sandwich thin left in bag pondering what to do for our bison burgers and more portabella burger this week when it hit me.  Instead of making a loaf of bread for the boy to make sandwiches this week, I should make my own sandwich this.

Three birds, one stone.

Honey Wheat Sandwich Thins
make 1 dozen 3 oz thins, 5 pts+ per thin*

 P1010556-1

Ingredients
1 ½ c warm water + ¼ c if necessary.  (My dough looked a little dry so I tossed in another ¼ c water toward the end of the mixing cycle.)
2 T olive oil
2 T honey
2 c whole wheat flour
2 2/3 c whole wheat bread flour
1 ½ t sea salt
2 t yeast

Do It
Add ingredients to the bread machine in the order recommended by your specific bread machine and run the dough cycle.**

When the dough cycle is complete, preheat oven to 350 and remove dough from the bread machine onto a floured surface.  Divide dough into 3 oz pieces rolling each piece into a ball.

With a rolling pin, roll out each ball into a disc about 5 inches in diameter.  Place discs on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper.

Use a fork to poke tiny holes in any design you’d like.

Bake for about 15 minutes.

Allow to cool completely before slicing.

Store in an air tight container or Ziploc bag.  I would recommend storing in the fridge or freezing any sandwich thins you don’t plan to use within 5 days.  Since these don’t have preservatives, they will mold quickly!

* Since this was my first attempt I wanted to make sure they were thick enough to cut in half.  These definitely puff up enough while baking that you could probably do 1.5 or 2 oz each which would give you more sandwich thins with a lower pts+ value.

**You could also make the dough, or your favorite bread dough, by hand.  I can’t promise the measurements will be the same though.

P1010563-1

These sandwich thins have more pts+ than the average store bought sandwich thin which comes in at 3 pts+ each, but they are tastier and don’t have all the preservatives and additives the you find in the store bought sandwich thins.  There’s also more to these homemade thins than there are to the store bought thin.  The Arnold’s whole wheat sandwich thins weigh in at 1.5 oz each.  These come to about 2.5 oz after baking.  As I mentioned in my note, these puffed up again while baking that you could probably do 2 oz of dough and still be able to slice them in half without issues.

The boy sent me a text the afternoon to tell me how delicious his sandwich was!

8 thoughts on “282. Make It Monday: Honey Wheat Sandwich Thins

    • They were seriously delicious. They’re definitely heavier and a bit more bun like than a store bought sandwich thin, but they are SO GOOD!

  1. I feel like, I would just rather eat regular bread? I don’t know why, but I always feel cheated when I eat those sandwich thins. NOW a sandwich thin vs. a regular bun – the sandwich thin wins. But for a pb&j or something, I’d rather just eat regular bread.

    I’m hooked on the Orowheat healthfuls 10 grain bread right now. I want to make fresh bread in my machine, but I just can’t stop buying the 10 grain bread because it’s SO good and has nuts and oats in it. Mmmmm.

    • I can see where you’re coming from with feeling “cheated.” These are much more “real bread” like than the store bought sandwich thins are. Honestly, after making these, I have no interest in ever eating a store bought sandwich thin again.

      As much as I love carbs, I’m actually really picky about bread. There’s a lot of sandwich breads – especially of this whole wheat/ whole grain variety – that I just don’t like. I can’t stand bread with nuts/ seeds/ oats/ anything chunky in my bread!

  2. Pingback: 291. Eat Homemade with the Odd Duck | Girl Can

  3. Pingback: 295. Make It Monday: Grilled Margherita Portobello Burgers | Girl Can

  4. dang!! I have a bread machine I want to sell. used about 3 times. not worth it to me to keep it. but these look good cuz I won’t buy the ones that have splenda/sucralose/poison (GAK) in them.

  5. Pingback: 321. Weight Watchers Wednesday: Session 2 Week 6 | Girl Can

Leave a Reply

