285. Fit Friday: Fitness Challenge, The Next Generation

I’m trying to get my posts up in the morning, but I’ve been crazy busy (at work and at home) getting ready for vacation that today’s post is a little late.  C’est la vie

Truthfully, I’ve had some trouble coming up with my next fitness challenge.  After the epic fail of strength training portion my last fitness challenge, I knew I wanted this challenge to focus on that.  My main goal with these challenges is to get myself to establish a routine I can stick with.  The last challenge was a great success in getting me to run regularly and incorporate some biking.  Since the challenge completion, I’ve been maintaining my 3 days of running and 1 – 2 days of biking each week.

Clearly the highly structure, daily approach to strength training that I took in my last challenge didn’t work for me so this time I’m trying the opposite end of the spectrum.  I’m giving myself almost complete and total flexibility under the following 4 guidelines:

  1. Minimum 20 minutes of strength training, 3 days a week.
  2. Strength training can be done as one upper body, one lower body, and one core session or three total body sessions.
  3. Strength training sessions cannot be done on back-to-back days to allow myself time to recover.
  4. I can do any strength training workout I’d like. (e.g . Yoga, CoreFusion, SparkPeople videos, circuits, workouts from magazines, Smart Girls Do Dumbbells work-outs, etc.)

That’s it.

The Challenge will run July 24th – August 27th.  I’ve printed a blank calendar to check off the days I do my strength.  To get my yet-to-be-determined reward, I have to meet these guidelines at least 4 out of the next 5 weeks and complete a minimum of 12 workouts.  This will be especially interesting since I’ll be on vacation for basically the first two weeks.  However, since I’ll pretty much have unlimited free time, I’ll have absolutely no excuses.  The hotel and ship both have gyms.  I’m not going to do weekly updates, but I will do an update at the halfway point and of course I’ll let you know how I did at the end.

I’m not creating a cardio portion for this challenge.  My plan is to continue doing what I’m doing and tracking my workouts over on my DailyMile Page.  Technically next week starts training for the Dallas 13.1 race so I will be posting my training schedule for that when I get back from vacation.

4 thoughts on “285. Fit Friday: Fitness Challenge, The Next Generation

  1. Pingback: 298. Fit Friday What? | Girl Can

  2. Pingback: 314. Goals, Goals, Goals: October 2011 | Girl Can

  3. Pingback: 337. 2011 in Review: Dedicated | Girl Can

Leave a Reply

