289. Make It Monday with the Odd Duck

Hi friends!  I’m currently off having a blasty (or suffering from miserable sea-sickness…let’s hope for the former!) on vacation.  Two weeks ago I ordered myself a juicer.  I’ve been having fun creating my own fresh juices so I asked my bestie Laura to share some information on juicing and favorite juice recipes! Enjoy! – Stina

Hi readers! I’m Laura, Stina’s BFF, and I blog at Becoming The Odd Duck. I’m here to talk about Juicing! Stina just bought a juicer, actually the same one I have, and she asked me to share my favorite juice recipe with all of you!

clip_image002

For starters, we both have the Breville Compact Juicer, which we both purchased on Amazon. I love this juicer because it’s small, it’s from an amazing brand and it’s affordable. If you’re in the market for a juicer, I definitely recommend this one based on the research I did and the use I’ve had from it.

But some of you may be wondering, why juice? It’s true, drinking juice is not as good as eating whole fruits and vegetables. When you juice, you leave behind the pulp and the fiber that is extremely healthy for you in the produce. While you definitely should eat whole produce each day, juicing can also be very healthy for you!

When you juice, you extract the vitamins and minerals from the produce that provides your body with raw cofactors for energy production. Sure you could get this energy from eating the produce itself, but you can’t eat as much produce at one time as you can juice. This juice can also boost your immune system when you’re feeling under the weather. And finally, it can supplement your diet with these key nutrients when you are lacking in fresh foods (which hey, happens to all of us at times).

clip_image004

When I bought my juicer, I wasn’t sure what types of juice to make. I bought a juicing book from Amazon right away to see what combinations of produce would work together. Although this is the only juicing book I’ve seen, I definitely like this book! It has both smoothie and juice recipes and rates each recipe on a scale of five criteria – Energy, Detox, Immunity, Digestion and Skin. You can search for recipes by the ingredients you have and also by the illness/condition you are suffering from and want to treat.

I definitely don’t use this book as much as I should, but it’s a great and affordable reference to accompany any juicer.

My favorite juice recipe is actually an adaptation of a recipe from this book. Combine 4-5 carrots, 2 apples and 2 oranges (peeled) in the juicer and enjoy! This makes roughly 24oz of juice, which I love to have with a piece of peanut butter toast or a lara/luna bar for breakfast.

clip_image006

Trust me, this juice is a winner! It will give you a lot of energy and even help you fend off illness with all the vitamin C from the oranges. Since its summer, try subbing nectarines for oranges for another delicious juice!

Do you have a juicer? If so, what are your favorite juices? I would love to hear some green juice recipes. All the ones I’ve tried make my stomach hurt for some reason.

All images (other than my juice) are courtesy of Amazon.com

3 thoughts on “289. Make It Monday with the Odd Duck

  1. OMG I am ALL about juice right now! Especially since we just hit day 30 of temps above 100! I’m planning my WIAW post this week around my juice obsession! I just can’t get enough right now!

  2. Pingback: 292. Weight Watchers Wednesday: Week #7 | Girl Can

Leave a Reply

