307. A Different Kind of Fit on Friday

I don’t have much to say for fit Friday this week.  I could recap my running and strength training from this week, but that’s not very exciting so instead I’m going to take Friday is a much different direction this week.  Fashion Friday!  (You can all blame thank my BFF Laura over at Odd Duck Blog for this one.)

I will be the first to admit I am not very fashionable.  I try (sometimes), but it’s definitely not something that comes naturally to me.  I’m a jeans and t-shirt kind of girl, and I truly believe Chuck Taylors are appropriate footwear for all occasions.  I rarely embrace trends, and when I do, it’s usually as they’re on their way out the door.  I’m still fighting the skinny jeans trend.  Sometimes I’ll manage to put together a really cute, almost trendy outfit, but I generally chalk that up to luck. 

However, I’ve begun to realized, in large part due to Laura’s inspiration (I really encourage you to check out Laura’s Fashion Friday series. She provides a really unique take on how fashion and dressing well fits in with weight loss.) ,  how important dressing yourself well actually is to developing body confidence especially when you’re constantly working to change and improve your body.  Last week I mentioned my decision to buy myself a whole mess of new clothes when I reach my goal weight.  But this week, I had a small revelation.  If I don’t start trying to dress well now, how am I going to know what the hell to buy when the time for new clothes comes?

So, I’ve started making an effort: hair, make-up, accessories, cute outfits, the whole she-bang.  You’ll have to forgive the bad lighting and crappy cell phone pictures.  I never actually intended to use these in a blog post.

image

 

image

The jeans are the “Rockstar” jeans from Old Navy.  I actually bought them last year, and I’ve maybe worn them a dozen times since then.  Honestly, I’m not really sure why I’m so resistant to skinny jeans other than the fact that I feel like they make my feet look ginormous.  I will say I tried on a pair of the “Rockstar” jeans this year, and I absolutely hated them.  I don’t know if Old Navy changed the cut or what, but I was not a fan.  I guess I’ll have to look elsewhere for skinny jeans this time around.  The top is also from Old Navy and the jewelry is Lia Sophia.

And here is my outfit from yesterday; this is actually the first time I’ve won this skirt since I bought it.  Like the pants I mentioned on Wednesday, I bought the skirt dirt cheap and a little too tight the last time I was around 155lbs.  I never actually wore it though. 

image

The skirt and cami are from Penny’s, and the sweater is from Target.  The belt actually came on a dress I own.  The jewelry is Lia Sophia.  After work I swapped the skirt for those aforementioned skinny jeans for a family dinner date.

So there you have it; my first attempts at dressing like I give a damn.  I doubt I’ll do Fashion Friday weekly, but maybe once or twice a month to keep you updated.  And maybe, if you’re lucky, one of these days I’ll show you just how horrendous my style was back in high school.

4 thoughts on “307. A Different Kind of Fit on Friday

  1. You look amazing! I LOVE that you changed from the skirt to skinny jeans for dinner last night! I bet you looked great :)

    I am so happy you are joining me on this journey!

  2. I love the grey top and jeans outfit. . . very flattering on you!

    I always go through little spurts where I say that I’m going to try harder to dress well and accessorize my outfits rather than just throwing on pants and a t-shirt. It hardly lasts. I wish I cared a bit more about fashion and dressed myself a little more carefully. But I don’t. :(

    • Thank you!

      I’m very much the same way! I’ll do really well at dressing myself for, like, a week, and then it all goes to hell in a handbasket. I either get lazy or tired or run out of inspiration (or clean clothes!) I’m hoping this time around I can really stick to it though! We’ll see how it all pans out.

      Truth be told, I really don’t care much about fashion, and even with dressing myself better, I’m still going to choose comfort over fashion every time.

  3. Pingback: 314. Goals, Goals, Goals: October 2011 | Girl Can

Leave a Reply

