310. Weight Watchers Wednesday: Session 2 Week 1

This week started a new session of the Weight Watchers at Work program I participate in.  For this session I’m also going to track total weight loss each week starting next week.

Last week’s weight: 158.2lbs
This week’s weight: 156.8lbs
Change: -1.4lbs

Reflections

This has been kind of a weird week for me, and truthfully, I’m still kind of processing it.  In other words, I’m about to go all brain dump on you my fine readers. 

Throughout the week I was feeling pretty confident about weigh in then around 2:00 yesterday, I got extremely nervous.  Like, lump in my throat, almost panicky nervous.  I was scared I wasn’t going to show a loss, or worse, that I’d have another gain.  I knew I’d had a decent week, and even though my workouts weren’t great (more on that Friday), I’d done well over all on the eating.  Despite my better senses, I started second guessing myself.  Did I really do as well as I could have?  Was I sure I didn’t go overboard?  Was the slice of Ultimate Red Velvet Cheesecake Nik and I split on Sunday afternoon going to come back to bite me in the ass?  I knew I was being totally irrational, but I just couldn’t help myself.  Thankfully I have the wonderfully supportive Laura in my life, and she was *mostly* able to talk me down.

This is really atypical for me.  I don’t generally freak out about my weight loss.  I don’t usually pressure myself.  I generally roll with it and take things as they come.  I think I’m starting to put pressure on myself, and I’m really not okay with that.  So I’m trying to sort out the possible reasons for my stress, and I’ve come up with a few.  First, I really want to get to my goal weight (read: have this losing weight thing over and done with.)  Second, I know the last 10 – 15 pounds are always the hardest to lose and require the most dedication.  Finally, and I’ve mentioned this before, I have this total mental block about getting below 155lbs.  It’s starting to seem more and more like the impossible dream every time I lose and gain and lose and gain.

So I have two goals for this week.

  1. Track absolutely everything.  I’ve gotten pretty lax about tracking on the weekends, and I think this is part of my stress.  If I’m tracking everything then there’s no guessing about whether I was under or exceeding my points (daily, weekly, and activity.  There’s no room for second guessing myself and whether or not I did my best.
  2. Get in my work outs.  I had a bad week for workouts overall last week.  This week is off to a much better start; I plan/ hope to keep that going.

I also bought the three month tracker notebook at my meeting last night.  I feel like this will be helpful because it keeps everything in one place for me rather than having a mess of weekly trackers to hold on to.  I’ll be able to go back and review my weeks more easily, and the notebook also has a page at the start of each week for weekly goals and your exercise plan for the week.  Hopefully this will be a good thing for me.  I do track online also which allows me to do the same things, but I’ve found I do much better when I’m physically writing things down.

7 thoughts on “310. Weight Watchers Wednesday: Session 2 Week 1

  1. Ugh I’ve gotten horrible about tracking. And sticking to my points too. I had to bribe myself with some cash this week to do a better job. I’m not above bribery. Don’t judge. ;)

    You’re doing AWESOME!! You’re totally my midweek inspiration!

    • Sorry for the mega-delay in responding to comments! Tracking is generally my weakness. Honestly, my biggest problem with tracking is (and always has been) when I’m doing a lot of eating away from home – whether it’s at restaurants where the nutritional info isn’t readily available or just a party where I’m not in charge of making the food. Basically if I have to start guessing at calorie count or points value, I get frustrated and just don’t bother.

      I’ve yet to find something I can successfully bribe myself with.

  2. Stina, you are doing awesome!! Keep up the amazing work! I wish I could pull such awesome losses like you do :( I guess if I started running, I might be able to..but I loathe running, lol.

    Keep it up, girlfriend!! You rock!

    Tori

    • Honestly, I don’t think running really has much to do with it. (So in other words, if you hate running don’t force yourself to do it. Find something you love – or at least enjoy – doing instead.)

      I do think exerise is an important factor, but ultimately I find my best loses come on the weeks that see the most diligent tracking and moderation of food intake. And veggies, it seems like the more veggies I cram into my body, the bigger my loses are.

  3. You are inspiring me! I’ve gotten into this bad habit where I do SUPER well during the week and then on the weekends, I have one too many meals out or a super heavy meal and then I’m up for days on end. I slowly get back down to my low weight by like Friday and then it starts all over again on the weekend. My system has been out of whack for weeks and it’s definitely showing on the scale :(

    Also, I haven’t worked out in almost 2 weeks. UGH. I don’t even want to think about it.

    I”m going to do much better this weekend! And I’m going to make sure to pack a lunch for tomorrow so I can get back on track starting tomorrow!

  4. You can do it, Laura!!! :)

    Also, your recipe for black bean soup looks ahhh-mazing! I was going to comment on your blog telling you so! :)

  5. Pingback: 311. The Good, The Bad, and The Awesome | Girl Can

Leave a Reply

