309. What I Ate Wednesday: Breakfast Edition

Confession: I am terrible at taking pictures of my food.  I manage to write it all down every day and track points, but remembering to snap a photo seems damn near impossible for me.  So today we’re taking a slightly different approach to WIAW.  I go through rotations of eating pretty much the same thing for breakfast every day for months at a time.  Over the summer it was omelets.  Now I’ve started shifting more toward cereals.

First up…

BetterOats Abundance Apples & Cinnamon Instant Oatmeal.

image

I’m not even sure what possessed me to grab this off the grocery store shelf because I usually I hate the consistency and flavor of instant oatmeal.  Thankfully, this oatmeal is much more similar to stove-top oats than it is to “regular” instant oatmeal.  I mix in 1 T of peanut butter and call it a day.   Plus, you can fill the packet with water if you don’t have a measuring cup handy!  Oh and the oatmeal clocks in with a mere 4 points+ so with my 1 T of pb, I’ve got a very solid, filling 7 points+ breakfast.

The second breakfast winner this week…

Nature’s Path Organic Optimum Blueberry Cinnamon cereal.

image

I’ve been on the hunt for this cereal since Laura mentioned it to me.  Well, actually she told me about the Optimum Slim which is her favorite, but I’ve yet to find that one.  I saw this one at Trader Joe’s this past week and snatched up the second to last box.  It’s definitely a unique cereal on the flavor and texture front, but I’m a fan.  1 cup of cereal weighs in at 5 points+ and since I prefer my cereal pretty dry, the 2T of 2% milk I pour on doesn’t add any additional points!

So those are my current go-to breakfast options.  Maybe next week I’ll manage to take pictures of a whole day’s worth of food!

Leave a Reply

