314. Goals, Goals, Goals: October 2011

Sometimes I’m just not in the mood to write even when I have things to say.  As Heather might say, “It goes in seasons.”   Last week was and off-season.  So I took an impromptu blogcation which turned out pretty awesome.  I attended not one, but two, Chicago Blackhawks games which is more Blackhawks games than I’ve attended in my entire life.  I don’t care if it was preseason; I still got to watch the Hawks beat the Wings while chanting “Detroit Sucks.” (No offense to any of my Michigan blogs friends of course!)

But I’m back in the mood to write and back to blogging.  I’m also back to setting some goals.  So here are my October goals…a few days late.

Print cruise pictures: I have over 400 pictures from my NYC trip/ cruise back in August.  They’re on my computer, but that’s as far as I’ve gotten.  My plan is to create a scrapbook, and I’d like to get that done before the end of the year.  (I think it would be nice to be able to bring to the various family holiday gatherings.)  Step one is printing the pictures.

Continue strength training minimum twice a week: You might remember my various failed strength training challenges.  You might even remember my most recent challenge.  I haven’t mentioned it on the blog out of fear of jinxing myself, but I’ve actually been doing really well this time around.  I might even actually be developing some upper body strength! I want to keep this up.

Closet clean out: Since deciding that a mess of new clothes would be my reward for I hitting my goal weight, and making more of an effort to dress myself like an adult, I’ve decided that it’s also time to get rid of  all those clothes I continue to wear despite being a size or two too big.  I many have mentioned this once or twice, but I absolutely hate doing laundry.  It is my least favorite chore ever.  Getting rid of clothing means having fewer options.  Fewer options mean doing laundry more often.  Laundry more often means, well, it’s just plain torture.  However, I’ve finally realized that wearing these too big clothes just looks sloppy and completely contradicts my goal of dressing like I know how to dress myself.  So the time had come for the clothes to go.

On a related note: Heather is hosting a giveaway for a $50 drugstore.com gift card.  $50 worth of new make-up certainly wouldn’t hurt my looking my best cause.

Clean House: Along with my closet clean out, I want to make an effort to keep my house cleaner.  Like strength training, this is a goal I often set, do well on for a short time, and then completely give up on.  I’m a terrible housekeeper.  I hate cleaning (though not as much as I hate laundry.)  I would hire a cleaning service if I could afford it, but I can’t.  So I need to stop being such a slob.  I’m going to start small with the two biggest problem areas: laundry and dishes.  (Doing dishes is on a close second to laundry on my list of least favorite chores ever.)  The sub-goals here are laundry once a week with clothes put away – no leaving the basket of clean clothes on the floor to be put away later – and dishes get washed before going to bed.

Run Dallas 13.1 This will be my third half marathon, but I’ve never run the entire distance without walking.  My first half I was undertrained.  My second half, I trained, and run, doing 5:1 run/walk intervals.  This time around my plan is to run the whole thing.  My training has been really strong, and I’m feeling confident.  I’m really just putting this out there as a goal to push myself through these last couple weeks of training.

Those are my five big goals for the month of October.  I still plan to set weekly, weight loss specific goals one Weight Watchers Wednesday.  So tell me, what are your goals this month?

4 thoughts on “314. Goals, Goals, Goals: October 2011

  1. My October Goals:

    1. Run. (obviously)
    2. Catch up on the 23427234978 posts I have planned to write. [i have so many outlines started, it's ridiculous.]
    3. Carve pumpkins.
    4. Be better about responding to non-urgent emails. (inspired by Rachelwilkerson.com ) [i have some sitting in my inbox from MAY that I still haven't responded to! oops!]

    • Oh! I want to carve pumpkins too!

      The stop being a slob thing had been weighing on me for a little while now, but the inspiration to make it a goal definitely came from Rachel!

  2. I have the same issue right now! I’m calling this weekend, the epic weekend of cleaning. I need to donate clothes to salvation army since I own enough to clothe a family of 20 and clean my bedroom. also, I’m in on carving pumpkins! I’ve been wanting to do that for years and never get to!!!!

  3. Pingback: 324. Goals, Goals, Goals: November 2011 | Girl Can

Leave a Reply

