350. Weight Watchers Wednesday: PointsPlus 2012 Week 11

Last week’s weight: 152.8lbs
This week’s weight: 150.6.lbs
Change: -2.2lbs
Total Loss: -14.2lbs

Reflections

I was in a really awful mood most of last week.  I wasn’t sleeping well.  I had no energy.  I blew off most of my runs.  I was not a happy camper.  On top of all that I had a bad weigh in last week (as evidenced by the above previous weight) that, honestly, I just wasn’t in the mood to blog about.  I discussed the weigh in with Laura, and I was fairly certain it was a direct result of allowing myself to become really dehydrated over the weekend.  However, discussing it was Laura was about as much talking about it as I wanted to do; plus, any blog I would have posted last week would have been miserable whining.   I usually subscribe to the something is better than nothing philosophy, but last week nothing was definitely the better choice.

Moving right along, weigh in this week confirmed that last week really was a result of being dehydrated over the weekend.  I lost the 1.4lb gain from last week as well as another .8lbs.  I’ve also officially hit the 150lbs mark.  I was absolutely over the moon last night when I saw 150 pop up on the scale.

When I first started my quest to lose weight back in 2009, 150lbs was my goal.  It was (and still is.  I certainly haven’t gotten any taller in the last, oh, 15 years…) a bit above the healthy BMI range, but it was the weight I remember being around the time I started college.  It seemed like a nice round number, and as good a goal as any.  I knew I ultimately wanted to get into the healthy BMI range, but 150lbs was close enough as an initial long term goal.

In addition to being my very first weight loss goal, it’s also been my next “milestone” goal for the last few months.  150lbs just felt so elusive.  I’d get close to it without ever quite reaching it.  It was starting to seem like the wall I would never get passed to reach my goal weight.  I know I’m not actually passed it yet, but just getting to it feels like such a huge victory.

One of the things we do at my meetings is when people reach milestones, the leader asks what’s been working for them to help them reach their goals.  It can be really helpful, and since I’ve actually changed things up quite a bit this month, I figured I’d go ahead and share what’s working for me.

First and foremost, veggies.  I’ve been maxing on the vegetables this month.  I recently got a Costco membership, and I’ve started buying my produce there.  It’s much cheaper than buying it at Jewel or even Target, but of course, it’s only a money saver if you’re eating all the produce and not throwing it away.  So since I’ve been buying my produce in bulk, I’ve been eating it in bulk.  I managed to eat something like 3 pounds of Brussels sprouts over a two week period.  I’ve been eating garbage salads for lunch nearly every day at work.  I’ve even been getting 2 – 4 servings of veggies at breakfast lately.  I’ll actually be sharing that “recipe” tomorrow so check back!  (Funny story: For the last two or three weeks I’ve actually been miscounting my servings of fruits and veggies.  I had it in my head that two cups of leafy greens was a serving when really it’s only one cup!  I’ve only been giving myself half credit on those daily salads!)

The other thing that seems to be making a big difference is my increased activity.  Since starting marathon training, I’ve been earning crazy numbers of activity points per week (We’re talking 40 points minimum, but this week I’ll earn 86 if I complete all my scheduled workouts.)  I actually increased my February goal of 150 points to 175, and I’m still going to blow that out of the water.  Now, I’m definitely not suggesting everyone go out and try to earn 80 activity points each week, but a small increase in activity definitely helps.  The other important part of this is I’ve really been focusing on balancing my increased activity and increased appetite.  Marathon training actually isn’t ideal for weight loss since (from what I’ve heard) you’re pretty much hungry all the time and you need to be properly fueling yourself to tackle ridiculously high mileage every week.  I think I mentioned previously that my goal is to eat a minimum of half my activity points.  Most weeks I eat all of my activity points and about half of my weekly points.  So far it seems to be a winning strategy.  We’ll see how it holds up.

So for now, my plan is to just keep doing what I’m doing.  My only goal is to make sure I’m really paying attention to my water intake on the weekends.  It’s always more of a challenge when I’m not sitting at my desk with a water bottle in front of my and a never ending supply of cold, filtered water about 15 feet away.  My next mini weight loss goal is to hit 148.  That’s my 10% milestone as well as 15lbs lost since joining Weight Watchers.  My “bonus goal” for February was to get there, but since it’s still 2.6 pounds away, I’m not sure I’ll get there this month, but if I continue at this rate, it will be soon!

 

3 thoughts on “350. Weight Watchers Wednesday: PointsPlus 2012 Week 11

  1. you are so close to your goal! I’m so excited! Also, when I read water intake, I literally grabbed my bottle of water. Are you brainwashing me? If so, keep it healthy!

  2. Wow…we have a lot in common! I started WW in October, have lost 14.2 lbs (weighed 150.2 as of today) and have another 10.2 to go to reach my goal. I run 2 half marathons a year, and I agree that it’s hard to lose while training, but I’m going to have to learn how to do just that! I love your goals and rewards idea…I have also had the Cook Everything Vegetarian book on my Amazon wishlist for awhile…that might have to be my next 5 lb reward too!

  3. Pingback: 351. Veggietastic Breakfast Bowls | Girl Can

Leave a Reply

