086. Sometimes You Need to Eat Dessert First

I had an a-may-zing workout tonight.  First I hit the pool for some swimming.  I swam 1050 yards, and 850 of those without stopping at all.  My plan was stop swim 850 yards non-stop.  I had to take a quick break after the first 150 and then 50 yards later because I was trying to get my HRM to work in the pool.  It wasn’t working out so I took it off after the first 200 yards. It’s really exciting that I can already swim 850 yards without having to stop at all.  After my yardage, I did a few laps of drills (about 200 yards total).

So why is 850 yards such a magic number you ask?

Well, 850 yards is approximately .77K.  This is .02K longer than the distance in a sprint triathlon.  Since I’ve already got the endurance to make the distance, I can focus more on speed when I start “official” triathlon training.

After my swim, I changed and headed to yoga class.  My yoga class was awesome tonight as well.  I felt so in the zone.  I felt like I was holding form very well.  My breathing was on point.  Overall, I just felt really strong.  I was great.

Unfortunately, I was in a rush to get to the gym in enough time to swim before yoga.  This meant dinner had to wait until I got home from my workout.  My plan was to bring a snack to eat between swimming and yoga.  However, I totally forgot to grab my snack on the way out the door.  Bad times.  I was STARVING by the time I got in my car to head home.

The dinner plan was Spaghetti Squash with Sauteed Zuchini which is quickly becoming a favorite of both Chris and mine.  Since my microwave is too small to cook the squash I have to bake it which is fine except it takes about 40 minutes.  Chris had the oven pre-heated and the squash prepped when I got home, but I still had 40 minutes before dinner would be done.  I decided it seemed like a brilliant time to eat dessert first!

I had myself a Kashi Dark Chocolate Oatmeal cookie and it definitely hit the spot.  I love these cookies because they actually have some nutritional value to them, but they’re still yummy enough to fulfill a cookie craving.

After my cookie I was able to wait for dinner to be done.  As usual, it was fantastic.  Once I get a recipes page up and running I’ll be sure to post this one for you all to try.  It’s a great meal, and an awesome spaghetti/ pasta substitute.

I need to get to bed.  I’m planning to get up at 5:30 and knock out a workout DVD.  I’m thinking either Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred or the Biggest Loser Last Chance Work-Out which my mom just gave me.

G’night all!

One thought on “086. Sometimes You Need to Eat Dessert First

  1. Pingback: 089. How Stina Got Her Groove Back « Girl Can…

Leave a Reply

