090. How Stina Got Her Groove Back

Yesterday was the first day in a long time I am truly in a good mood.  I finally felt like I was back in the game for real not just faking my way through it in a half-hearted effort.  I have motivation. I have focus.  I feel great now!

So how did I get my groove back?

To be honest, I’m not entirely sure.  I think it was a combination of mind over matter/ the power of positive thinking and faking til you make it.

I’ve been going through the motions for a while now.  Doing things half-heartedly so I can say I’ve been doing them.  I would go to the gym, but I was doing the bare minimum while I was there.  I’d get a run or a swim in, but again, there was limited effort.  I was eating good, but not great.  A lot of processed foods were slowly creeping back in to my diet.  I wasn’t gaining weight, but I wasn’t loosing it either.  I would go out and hang out with friends, but I had to force myself out of the house.  Honestly, there were weekends in January I had to literally force myself to do anything that wasn’t laying on the couch watching Buffy.

Last week, I decided I was sick of being no-fun girl.  I was sick of not feeling as good as I know I can.  I was sick of letting winter defeat me!  I decided I was going to make myself feel better one way or another.  Of course, you already knew this from my previous blog where I analyzed my situation and created an action plan for myself.

Monday I had to force myself through my workout a little bit.  Tuesday was my rest day.  Wednesday’s workout was a-may-zing.  Yesterday I willing got up at 5:30 to do a work-out DVD before work.  I chose bringing a lunch over getting something.  I did my workout in the morning so I could meal plan and grocery shop after work and make a healthy dinner.  I want to blog and blog and blog.  (I’ve already got more posts written up and coming soon!)  I’m actually excited for my plans this weekend!  Clearly I’m doing something right here!

What do you do to make yourself feel better when you’re feeling down?  Do you believe in the power of positive thinking – that you can make yourself feel better just by deciding to feel better?
Last but not least, oh no, I haven’t forgotten, this morning’s breakfast.  I treated myself to some Chocolatey Peanut Butter Banana Oats. Always a wonderful Friday morning treat.  I am SO ready for the weekend!  Who’s with me?!

HAPPY FRIDAY EVERYONE!!!!

Leave a Reply

