096. I Feel the Earth Move Under My Feet

Who would have thought, living outside of Chicago, I would experience more earthquakes than my friend Emily in the two years she’s been living in California! (Oh, and I’m fully aware Illinois sits on a major fault line. I was just playing on the irony.)

Around 4:00am, I was woken up by my headboard rattling against the wall and a shaking feeling in my chest. It was pretty much the same feeling I got during the last earthquake we felt in the south burbs. It was enough to wake me up and confuse me, but not enough to freak me out. When I got up this morning I’d almost totally forgotten about it until I read an email from my aunt.

[Source] turns out a quake with a magnitude of 4.3 hit about 4 miles west of Sycamore/ DeKalb, IL. (That’s basically where Northern Illinois University is located.)
As of 4:30 this morning there weren’t any reports of injuries or serious damages which is good. My mom’s brother Mike and his wife Jean live in DeKalb. I’m assuming they’re both okay so I’m kind of excited to hear my aunt or uncle’s account of the experience.

Breakfast was the usual oats – nothing horribly exciting. Lunch is an extravaganza of leftovers, and I’m not sure what the dinner plan is yet. I’ll keep you posted.

2 thoughts on “096. I Feel the Earth Move Under My Feet

    • I don’t think it was too bad. My aunt and uncle actually live in DeKalb, and it didn’t even wake either of them. I honestly think it was the sound of my headboard hitting the wall that woke me rather than the actually shaking.

Leave a Reply

