102 Kids & Diets Part 2

Chris went out to his dad’s house today to help them set up some new computers they bought over the weekend.  Since he’s gone, I’m on my own for dinner.  I really hate cooking for just one person so I kept it pretty simple (and a bit experimental).

I made myself an egg scramble choked full of veggies (broccoli, spinach, and red onion) and some cheese.  I also made some Sweet Roasted Sweet Potato “hashbrowns” to go with it.

I’m not going to lie.  I was a bit leery of the sweet potatoes.  Sweet potatoes are one of those foods “I don’t like” meaning I’ve never had them prepared in a way I like, but I don’t feel I’ve given them their fair shot either.  I bought some sweet potatoes a while back, but I’ve been hesitant to use them because Chris isn’t a huge fan.  Tonight, I was going to make roasted red potatoes to go with my scramble, but those damn sweet potatoes were my only option.  I chopped up the smallest one, tossed it in a Ziplock bag, added 1T. EVOO, 4t. brown sugar and about 1t. cinnamon (that was all I had left), and shook.  I tossed them in the toasted oven for 30 mintues at 350°.

These were definitely yum worthy though I need to work on perfecting the recipe a bit.

Tonight I’ve got a pretty a lengthy workout planned.  I’m hittin the gym about 7 to get a 30 minute (or so) run in.  I’m going to hit the 7:30 Core Commotion class and then Yoga at 7:45.

So earlier, I asked people their opinion regarding putting kids on a diet.

I don’t have kids, but I do not agree with the idea of putting children “on a diet” in the traditional sense.  Personally, I feel there are several problems with putting children, particularly young girls, on diets.

  1. Diets don’t generally work unless they cause you to make healthy lifestyle changes.  I think putting a child on a diet is an early introduction to a lifestyle of yo-yo and fad diets.
  2. I think it is equally, if not more, harmful to the self esteem than being overweight because it enforces the idea that you’re not okay the way you are.
  3. I think it can turn children into “closet eaters.”  You may be able to control your children’s diet at home, but you can’t do much about what they’re eating when they’re at a friends house.  Deprivation often leads to binges and being told you can’t have something generally makes you want it more.

There are more reasons, but I think those are probably my “top 3.”

However, this is not to say I think childhood obesity should be ignored either.  It’s difficult enough to be a teen/ tween without the added stress of being overweight.  Kids can be cruel, especially in junior high and high school, and weight is so tied to self-esteem and self-worth.  (Obviously this shouldn’t be the case, but it is.)  I think the best way to deal with an overweight child is for families to focus on healthy eating together.  Nutrition and living a healthy lifestyle is important for everyone, and by creating a healthy consciousness  at a young age, you’re teaching children valuable lessons.    I also think children should be encourage to participate in choosing and creating meals.  I also think getting children physically active is as important as having them eat right.  Physical activity balances the occasional indulgence.  Not every child is going to want to play sports, but that doesn’t mean they are destined to be couch potatoes either.  Families can go on walks or bike rides together, play active games, or anything to get them up and moving.  The possibilities are endless really.

I think like anything the key is creating a balanced approach.

Leave a Reply

