156. Birthday Gifts, Cupcakes, & Heaven

Today is Chris’ birthday, and as usual I waited until the last possible minute to go buy his gift. Since I didn’t go out last night, I decided to make the mile hike to the Best Buy in the South Loop during my lunch break. The area isn’t the nicest to look at as it’s an “up-and-coming” area, but it was a good walk.

South Loop Whole FoodsSince I walked all the way down there, I had to stop in the Whole Foods across the street. First of all, this Whole Foods is truly epic. I’m pretty sure all the other Whole Foods in Chicago (or at least the one in Hinsdale) should be jealous. I’m actually really bummed I wasn’t in such a hurry I didn’t take any pictures. (Photos are from the store website.) Second, since the Hinsdale Whole Foods is a 20 – 30 minute drive from my house, I’ll definitely be returning. In fact, this will probably become my go-to Whole Foods location.

South Loop Whole Foods bakeryI was craving something sweet so after wandering the store a bit, I decided to check out the bakery. I picked up three cupcakes from Swirlz Cupcakes which is a local bakery in Lincoln Park. I grabbed gluten-free lemon, gluten-free red velvet, and gluten-free, vegan double chocolate.

I dug in to the lemon cupcake as soon as I got back to my desk. I was so excited I forgot to take a picture. It was delicious though! It had the perfect balance of sweet and tart. The frosting was thick and light and not too sweet. I’m generally not a frosting person at all, but this Italian butter cream was amazing.

I offered a cupcake up to my co-worker Cher, but she declined so I’ll bring them home as birthday treats for Chris.

I also picked up a LOLCatz birthday card for Chris and some carob chips for my newest obsession which I’ll discuss tomorrow.

Tonight we’re going to Baker’s Square for Chris’ birthday dinner with his mom and grandma. I pretty much hate Baker’s Square, but it’s Chris’ birthday not mine. I’ll tough it out.

My training schedule calls for a three mile run tonight, but I’m not sure if I’ll have time. If I don’t get it in tonight I’ll run on Friday which is scheduled to be my rest day. At least I will have gotten three miles of walking today.

One thought on “156. Birthday Gifts, Cupcakes, & Heaven

  1. Pingback: 157. My New Obsession « Girl Can…

Leave a Reply

