165. Weigh-In Wednesday

Live It!

Since I’m actively trying to get to my goal weight, I’m regularly weighing in again. I’ve chosen Wednesday as my weigh-in day. (In case you’re wondering, yes, I chose Wednesday solely for alliteration purposes. Weigh-In Wednesday just has such a nice ring to it.) Right now I’m going to go with weekly weigh-ins though I’ll alter as I see fit in the future.

I’ve lost 4 pounds since “starting over” last Thursday. I didn’t actually post my starting weight, but it was 166. This morning I weighed in at 162. I’m sure this is at least partially, if not all, water weight/ bloat, but I’ll take it either way. Having my first “official” weigh-in in quite some time really got my thinking about the love/ hate relationship people have with the scale, and my own relationship with the scale. What is most interesting to me is the way my relationship with the scale had changed over time.

Worth Your Weight?
I’ve never been one that’s been tied to a scale, letting my weight define me. Even at my biggest, I had a mostly positive body image. I rarely weighed myself; in fact, I didn’t even own a scale until August of last year. My parent’s had one in their bathroom which occasionally I would step on out of curiosity. When I moved out in January ‘09, my roommate had a scale, but she kept it in her bedroom. I weighed in weekly on the scale at the gym. That was it. When I bought my condo I decided I needed a scale. It’s interesting how just owning a scale and keeping it in view can totally change (warp) your relationship with the scale.

At first, it was no big. I still did my weekly weigh-ins, but after some time, I found myself jumping on daily to check my progress. All it took was the scale lying on my bathroom floor staring at my to turn me from the girl who doesn’t see the need to own a scale to the girl who obsessively weighs herself. Thankfully, it never got to the point where I was allowing the scale to make or break me. I can see how it easily could progress to that point however so I am nixing this scale obsession right now.

Three ways to beat the scale obsession:

  1. Take measurements other than weight: Just because the number on the scale isn’t going down does not mean you aren’t loosing inches. The way your clothes fit (not the size, the actual fit) is another great way to “measure” yourself.
  2. Assess other indicators of wellness: How well are you sleeping? How are your energy levels throughout the day? How are your energy levels during work-outs? How does your body feel – strong, bloated, soft, fit?
  3. Get the scale out of sight and out of mind: The scale can’t tempt you if it can’t find you.
  4. Remind yourself you are beautiful regardless of your weight or size: Visit Operation Beautiful regularly and post your own notes too (Sometimes reminding others they are beautiful is a great reminder for yourself.), or commit yourself to being Size Healthy.

Strategy number 3 is what I will be employing. I’m already very good at the first two strategies. I decided I needed to get serious with my weight loss again when my pants started feeling snug. I was also starting to feel physically icky. I felt bloated almost all the time, and I could tell I was loosing some strength. For me, the obsession with weighing-in definitely comes from the presence of the scale. Tonight when I get home, the scale is going in the hall closet. It will get to come out and play on Wednesday mornings only.

Eat It!
As you can probably guess, I had another omelet with fruit and PB toast for breakfast this morning. I did switch it up and have mango instead of strawberries. (I was out of strawberries anyway.) Here’s breakfast in all it’s déjà vu-y goodness:

Calories: about 400

My morning snack was a portion of the new Apple Crunch muffin from Panera. I saw it on display when I went on Monday, and definitely wanted to try it at some point. I’m a sucker for muffins – especially those of the blueberry or apple cinnamon variety. One of these muffins was hanging out in the work kitchen from an underwriter visit so I decided to indulge. Muffins in general aren’t that nutritious so I cut myself about 1/3 of it and went back to my desk to look up the nutrition info before consuming.

Now this muffin is, as expected, a nutritional nightmare.

  • 450 cal
  • 12g fat
  • 3g saturated fat
  • 60mg cholesterol
  • 340mg sodium
  • 80g carbohydrates
  • 2g fiber
  • 49g sugar
  • 7g protein

However, nutrition stats aside, this muffin was damn good. It was definitely a holy yum, sinful indulgence moment. It was super moist and had giant chunks of real apple in it. I’m definitely going to need to make a healthy lifestyle- friendly version of this muffin in the very near future. Since I only ate about 1/3 of the muffin, I limited my calorie intake to about 150.

Lunch today was left over quiche and some cantaloupe. The quiche, while still yummy, was incredibly unappealing from a visual standpoint so I didn’t even bother to take a photo. Trust me when I say a photo would have been a total turn off. Lunch came in around 260 calories.

I was struck with a craving for Reese’s this afternoon so I ate two miniature Reese’s cups (110 calories) as an afternoon snack. Not the greatest snack choice, but it was what I wanted.

Leave a Reply

