167. For the Love of Running

I think I should preface this by saying there is little in this world I hate more than being wet. It’s ironic, I know, given that I was a competitive swimmer for the greater portion of my life thus far, but honestly, I think that’s the reason: too much time spent sitting around in wet swim wear.

You may have noticed this in my status, but this evening I ran 3.3 miles in the pouring rain for some avocados (and a red onion). Why in the world would I do this? Well, first of all I REALLY wanted some avocado. I’ve been craving it for two days. More importantly, I ran because I wanted to, because I can, and because I love running.

I was reminded of this fact today by my dear SparkFriend Kristina (KARVY09) in her blog.  She wrote about how this summer is hers to run for the love of running, and as I was reading her blog I realized something: somewhere along the way, I forgot why I was running. Somewhere along the way, running became a chore. It became something I had to do: to train, to lose weight, because that’s what all the “cool” kids where doing. I was not longer running because it was something I loved to do and wanted to it.

It wasn’t that I had lost my love of running; I’d simply misplaced it along with a lot of other things. I’ve found if again though. This afternoon, is cold hard proof.

Before I left work I decided I was going to run to the store and buy myself some avocados. I came home, changed, and took Maxwell for a brief walk/ potty break. While we were out walking it started to rain. My the time we got back, I was already pretty wet so I figured what the hell, I’ll run anyway. I came in, gather my things and headed back out. It was pouring! I could have easily turned around and waited it out or skipped it all together, but I wanted to run. I wanted to get out there and go.

And go I did. It started pouring while I was out and at points I was running through puddles more than ankle deep, but I loved every minute of it. I felt a freedom and lightness I haven’t felt in a while. It was by no means my fastest run, though I did keep a good pace. I was back in the door in under 40 minutes which isn’t bad considering I had to go into the store to get my avocados. On my way back I even let me hair down.

I can honestly say, this was hand down my best run ever even if I did come back in looking like a drowned rat.

Drowned Rat

Soaked but happy

I did make a pretty important decision during my run. I am tossing out my half marathon training schedule. (Not that I’ve been a champ in sticking to it anyway.) Having a training schedule makes running something I HAVE to do not necessarily something I WANT to do. I still plan on running 3 days a week and cross training two, but I’m pitching the official training schedule. My goal is to run between 3 -5 miles on Tuesdays and Thursdays and do a long run on Sundays. (These are my running days for the bootcamp.) I’m going to have faith in myself that I will do these runs because I love running and want to do them.

So, what did I do with those avocados (and red onion) anyway? I put them in some bomb-ass black bean soup. Recipe here.

Black Bean Soup

This soup hit the spot like no other! Generally I only eat about 1/3 or 1/2 an avocado at a time since they’re pretty heavy in calories ans fat, but after running 3 miles in the rain for this bad boy, you can be sure I ate the whole thing!

Added bonus: I’ve got left overs for lunch tomorrow, and I’m going to pair it with an avocado and hummus sandwich.

As a final note, bloggies, I am back!  There were some pretty major, life altering changes while I was away, most specifically, I ended my 6 year relationship with Chris.  I’ll post more about that at another time though.  You also might have noticed an increase in photo quality.  I finally got a new camera!  My parent’s bought me a Panasonic Lumix FZ35 for my birthday!  I’m really looking forward to learning to use it and getting some stellar foodie pics for you all!

For now, peace.

2 thoughts on “167. For the Love of Running

  1. Hi Stina !! I’ve been following you on twitter for a while but JUST found your blog 🙂

    One of my nicknames is Stina 🙂 (Kristina – just like you)

    that black bean soup looks awesome. thanks for sharing, I am going to try it.

    I’m glad I found your blog on your way back to blogging! 🙂 Hope life is going good for you, with the big changes.

    Peace to you!

Leave a Reply

