170. I Can’t Get No Satisfaction

This week has just been full of realizations, and it’s only Tuesday!  This is probably a direct extension of yesterday’s realization that I need to make my own happiness, but this morning I realized/ decided it’s time I decide “what I want to be when I grow up” and start working toward that.  Plus, I need to find a new job (sooner than later) because coming to work just depresses me these days. 

Don’t get me wrong.  It’s not that I hate my job; it’s not even that I dislike my job.  As far as Corporate America goes, my company is pretty great.  My co-workers are usually fantastic, and generally office morale is pretty high.  It’s not that the work itself is that bad either.  It’s just that brokering insurance is not what I want to do with the rest of my life.  It’s just that I want to be one of those people that loves my job.  I want to feel like I’m making a difference in the world; like what I’m doing actually matters.  I’m not looking to save the world, but I want to feel like maybe what I’m doing is making it a little better for someone else.  Insurance just doesn’t do that. 

Plus, I’ve always known cubicle life isn’t for me.  There’s a reason I went to school for teaching.  Unfortunately, I didn’t love teaching English either.  The problem is I only seem to know what I don’t want to do.  I don’t seem to have any ideas as to what I do want to do.  I do know I want to go back to school, but I’m not even sure what I would like to pursue.  I’m interested in so many things it makes it hard to focus: health and wellness, communications, gender studies, education and general sociology.  I think any job/ graduate program that would allow me to combine all these things would be my dream.  (I am open to suggestions of course.)

I need to do something though.  This is an important part of making my own happiness.

2 thoughts on “170. I Can’t Get No Satisfaction

  1. I totally relate to wanting to go back to school but having way too many cool ideas for what to study. If you find that magical hybrid health/wellness/sociology/education degree definitely let me know 🙂

  2. A woman at work (who works in the career center at the university where I work) recommended I read the book Do What You Are. She said it’s very helpful in figuring out what you like to do.

Leave a Reply

