173. Adult Supervision Required

I should not be allowed in Borders (or any book store for that matter) without adult supervision.  Seriously.  Last night on my way home from work I decided to swing by the local Borders to see if they had the Operation Beautiful book on shelves yet.  Sadly, they didn’t have the book out yet, but the psychology section is right next to the cookbook section.  Noticing this is where things went downhill – fast.  I ended up leaving the store with two new cookbooks: Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World and Student’s Vegetarian Cookbook.

The first cookbook I bought because I’ve had a serious desire to make vegan lemon cupcakes recently.  Actually, I’ve wanted to experiment with vegan baking as a whole.  I don’t have any intentions of going vegan (I love cheese way too much), but I do want to integrate more vegan foods into my diet and baked goods seem like an easy way to do so.  Basically, I bought this one totally on a whim.  I saw it looking at me from the shelf all glossy with its super sexy cupcake cover.

The second cookbook I bought because I really want to start making more of my meals vegetarian.  I haven’t been a student for 3 years now, but I’m single and broke so the cheap, simple, small serving recipes are perfect for me.  I’d actually written up a post yesterday explaining my desire to go (nearly)vegetarian, but Microsoft Word ate the post, and I was too frustrated too type it up again.*  Here’s the condensed version.

Over the weekend, I had a bit of an epiphany.  There are so many animals I could never consider eating (rabbit, deer, veal, etc.) because I feel doing so is wrong so why am I okay with eating other animals (cows, chicken).  This is really the first time I’ve ever struggled with the idea of ‘what makes one animal okay to eat while another is now?’

Monday I picked up Eating Animals from the library.  I haven’t started it yet, but I should be reading it by the end of the week.  I need to finish re-reading (for the 400th time or so) the second Harry Potter book.

*Funny how I draft my posts in Microsoft Word so WordPress can’t eat them only to have Microsoft Word eat them.  Grrr…

Oh and speaking of Operation Beautiful.  Here’s a note I posted in the elevator at work:

The quote reads, “We have to learn to be our own best friend because we fall too easily into the trap of being our own worst enemies.” – Roderick Thorpe.  I think this is a really fantastic reminder for everyone.

Also, as a final note, I finally went grocery shopping on Monday so I now have no excuses not to be cooking awesome meals for myself.  You can expect the food photography and tracking to pick back up.

One thought on “173. Adult Supervision Required

  1. Pingback: 174. Vegan Raspberry Lemonade Cuppycakes « Girl Can…

Leave a Reply

