180. Giving it a Thai

First of all, I apologize for the terrible pun.

I love Asian food.  Seriously.  I could eat it every night and probably never get tired of it.  The one branch of Asian food that has always intimidated me is Thai food.  I’ve heard over and over again that it’s spic.  As someone who is not a fan of spicy food, I’ve always found Thai food very scary.  However, I’ve also really wanted to try Thai food recently.  It’s even one of the items on my Mission 101 list.

When I was planning my meals this week I ran across a recipe for Pad Thai in the Student’s Vegetarian Cookbook.  I decided to be daring and make it.  At least this way I could control the spiciness.

Here’s the recipe as it is from the book.  I’ll note my changes at the end.

Noodles
2 quarts water
6 ounces rice noodles (1/4″ wide)

Sauce
3 tablespoons fresh lemon or lime juice
3 tablespoons catsup
1 tablespoon sugar
1/2 cup soy sauce

Stir-Fry

1 to 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
4 large cloves of garlic, minced
1 medium fresh green jalapeno chile, seeded and minced
2 medium carrots, grated (about 2 cups)
1/2 pound mung bean sprouts (about 1 1/2 cups)
2 scallions, finely chopped (about 3/4 cup)
2 tablespoons chopped peanuts
2 tablespoons finely chopped cilantro

1. Cook noodles according to packaging

2.  In small bowl, combine the sauce ingredients; set aside

3. Heat oil in skillet on medium-high heat.  Add the garlic and jalapeno; stir-fry for a moment.  Stir in the grated carrots.  Stir-fry for 1 to 2 minutes.  Add the sauce, noodles, bean sprouts, and scallions.  Stir everything together.  When ingredients are warm, plate.  Garnish with peanuts and cilantro.

Makes two to three servings

Since I’m not a fan of spicy foods, I definitely omitted the jalapeno.  I also winged it on the amounts of everything since I had a feeling the recipe would make more than I actually wanted it to.  I didn’t have peanuts so I decided to add a tablespoon of melted peanut butter to the sauce to give it some of the peanut flavor.  I also wanted to up the veggie power so I added some baby broccoli I had picked up at Trader Joe’s  The final change was pea shots for mung bean sprouts since that’s what I was able to get at the store.

Over all this was pretty tasty.  I have no idea how it compares to “real” Thai food, but I will definitely be making this again.

Anyway, I need to run.  Very busy night.  I need to get my yoga on, steal a suitcase from my parents, and decorate a monkey cake for my friend Nik’s birthday BBQ on Sunday.  It has to be done tonight since I’ve got a dinner date with my friend Colleen tomorrow, and HLS Friday and Saturday.

Toodles!

5 thoughts on “180. Giving it a Thai

  1. Sounds like a pretty good facsimile of Pad Thai! I’ve never seen it made with jalapenos so I agree with leaving them out. Glad you liked it!

    Another excellent Thai dish is Pad See Ew. A friend of mine makes a tasty vegan version.

    • Yes I am! I’m so excited (and definitely nervous) to meet everyone!

      The pad thai was pretty yummy! I’m definitely ready to try it at an actual Thai restaurant!

  2. Pingback: 181. Not a Piece of Cake « Girl Can…

Leave a Reply

