185. Very Tempeh-ting Pizza

A couple weeks ago I picked up a package of tempeh at Trader Joe’s.  I haven’t really been daring enough to use it yet.  Last night I decided to bit the bullet and make a BBQ Hawaiian pizza with tempeh for dinner.

Picture 371

First of all, the look of block of tempeh totally disgusted me so I didn’t take a photo.  i cut it up into bite-sized pieces and “marinated” it in some BBQ sauce while I chopped my red onion and rolled out my crust.

 Picture 374

I used the whole wheat pizza dough from Trader Joe’s, topped it with TJ’s BBQ sauce, red onion, frozen pineapple chunks, and those chunks of tempeh.  I topped everything with the TJ’s smoked cheese blend and popped it in the oven.

 Picture 375

I didn’t end up eating the pizza last night since my friend Nik called to see if I wanted to join him and the guys for dinner at Tilted Kilt.  However, I now have lunch for today.  I’m sure the pizza won’t be as good reheated, but I’ll let you all know how it is.

6 thoughts on “185. Very Tempeh-ting Pizza

    • It was still good, but I’ve yet to find a way to get the TJ’s whole wheat pizza dough as crispy as I like it so it’s always REALLY soggy when it’s reheated.

  1. I always avoid tempeh because I think it looks so gross. It seems like a lot of people love it though so I’m looking forward to hearing how your pizza turned out 🙂

    • Tempeh does look absolutely disgusting on it’s own; I totally understand why TJ’s uses such cute packaging! It’s worth giving it a try though.

    • Yeah, it does have a bit of a concrete look to it. I’m not a huge fan of teryaki so I probably won’t be trying that. I could definitely see using it in soups or pasta sauces as a substitute for ground beef though.

Leave a Reply

