189. The Butcher, The Baker, The Candlestick Maker…or just the Baker

I have been a cupcake baking machine this weekend.  Yesterday I was trapped at home all morning while my new cable (adios Comcast!) is being installed so I decided to whip up some cupcakes to take to my friend Kristin’s birthday party.  I mean, I couldn’t just show up empty handed right?  What kind of friend would I be?

After a quick Google for cupcake recipes that don’t call for granulated white sugar since I was some how totally out of that, I found a recipe for Vegan Applesauce Cupcakes.  I was intrigued so I decided to give them a shot.  I didn’t change much from the original recipe except I forgot to add the vanilla (oops!) and I left out the walnuts because I don’t like them.

Applesauce Vegan Cupcakes Ingredients

1/2 c Earth Balance
1/4 c Turbinado Sugar
3/4 c Organic All Purpose Flour
3/4 c Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
1 t Baking soda
1/4 t Salt
1 t Cinnamon
1 1/2 t Nutmeg
1 1/4 c Unsweetened applesauce

Applesauce Vegan Cupcakes Directions

Preheat oven to 375 F.
Cream margarine until fluffy.
Add to sugar and blend.
Sift together dry ingredients.
Add to margarine mixture alternately with applesauce, mixing well after each addition.
Spoon into 12 cupcake pans sprayed with vegetable pan spray or use paper baking cups.
Bake 15-20 min.

Picture 379

The cupcake batter was really interesting.  It was almost mousse-like.  I topped the cupcakes with a caramel icing

1/4 cup butter (4 ounces)
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 tablespoons milk
Powdered sugar

Melt the butter and brown sugar in a saucepan until the brown sugar is dissolved. 
Add milk and powdered sugar until the icing reaches the consistency you want.

 

The icing was quick and easy and tasted great on top of the slightly sweet and spicy apple cupcakes.  The cupcakes went over really well which makes me happy since I hadn’t tried the cupcakes before anyone else did.

Today I’m making more cupcakes for my friend Dan’s birthday BBQ this afternoon.  I’ve still got a bunch of leftover chocolate frosting from the monkey cake so I’m making chocolate cupcakes and vegan yellow cupcakes.

The chocolate cupcakes were just a basic recipe I found online. I actually followed it to a T.

Picture 387

The yellow cupcakes were the Golden Vanilla Cupcakes from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World.

Picture 388

Golden Vanilla Cupcakes

Ingredients:
1 c almond milk
1 t apple cider vinegar
1 1/4 c all-purpose flour
2 T cornstarch
3/4 t baking powder
1/2 t baking soda
1/4 t salt
1/3 c canola oil
3/4 c granulated sugar
2 t vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350*
  2. Whisk together almond milk and apple cider vinegar and set aside a few minutes
  3. Beat together the almond milk mixture, oil, sugar, vanilla, lemon juice, and lemon zest in large bowl
  4. Sift in the flour, cornstarch, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Mix until no large lumps remain
  5. Fill cupcake liners 2/3 of the way and bake for 20 to 22 minutes

Picture 390

I am not a vegan.  I will probably never be a vegan. (What can I say, I love me some cheese.)  However, I really enjoy baking vegan treats.  I don’t know if it’s the excitement of trying something new and “exotic” or the challenge of baking without the conventional butter, milk, and eggs. Either way, there’s something about taking a bite out of a yummy vegan dessert that just makes me smile.

7 thoughts on “189. The Butcher, The Baker, The Candlestick Maker…or just the Baker

    • I do absolutely love it! It’s possibly my favorite cookbook ever (and not just because it’s a cupcake cookbook!) I love that it gives you a base recipe and a bunch of variations on that recipe.

      I’m thinking I need to purchase the cookies book in the very near future.

  1. Just found out that my daughter is allergic to egg whites. These vegan recipes are great to find since she can’t have the regular cupcakes with whole eggs in them. Thanks for posting!

  2. I was just looking at the vegan applesauce cupcake recipe on vegancupcakerecipes.com and I was wondering if I could leave out the granulated sugar altogether. Thanks for your review! Looks like they turned out great with no sugar added 🙂 🙂

  3. you have lemon juice and zest in the golden cupcake recipe instructions but not listed in the recipe ingredients……. i am going to make them without and get back to you, seeing as though i am unsure about the quantity if they are needed!!

Leave a Reply

