192. A Little Lacking in Asparagus Asparagus Risotto

I’m currently in the process of creating an culinary bucket list which will be posted at some point in the semi-near future.  One of the items on that list is to make a risotto that doesn’t suck.  I’ve tried to make risotto on a couple occasions, but I’ve never really been successful.  However, thanks to Savvy Julie, I’ve finally made a risotto that doesn’t suck!

I wanted to make asparagus risotto, but most of my asparagus had gone bad so my asparagus risotto was a little lacking in the asparagus department.  Either way it was freaking delicious!

I used Julie’s perfect risotto recipe as my guide.

Ingredients
3 1/2 c of vegetable stock
2 T olive oil
1/2 large onion, chopped
4 garlic cloves, minced
3/4 c Arborio rice
1/4 c white wine
1 T butter
2 T grated Parmesan
12 asparagus stalks, chopped into bite-sized pieces.  (I would have used more if I had more.)

Picture 391

Directions
In a large stock pot, heat the oil over medium-high heat. Add the onion and garlic, and allow to cook for 2-3 minutes, until soft and translucent.  In the meantime, heat the stock over medium-low heat.

Add the rice and wine. Stir until the wine is reduced to a glaze.

In half-cup increments, add the stock. After each addition, stir until the liquid is absorbed into the rice before adding more stock. Once the rice is soft and opaque, remove the risotto from the heat. Stir in the asparagus, cheese and butter.

2 thoughts on “192. A Little Lacking in Asparagus Asparagus Risotto

  1. Pingback: 197. A Culinary Bucket List « Girl Can…

  2. Pingback: 197. A Culinary Bucket List « Girl Can…

Leave a Reply

