199. Girl Can’t Bake

I don’t like the word can’t.  More often than not, can’t is just an excuse for won’t or scared.  I really try to avoid using the word can’t.  That’s why my blog is Girl Can.  If I want something I can make it happen.  I can face my fears and make anything happen with a little effort.  I can do anything I put my mind to except bake.

Girl Can’t Bake.

No, seriously.  Last night tragedy struck.  My oven died.  Now, this doesn’t really come as a shock since I think my oven might actually be older than I am, but it is a huge disappointment.  I love my oven.  I love to bake.  I love to make awesome dinners in my oven.  I have a bunch of new recipes on the menu this week: really delicious and exciting sounding recipes, 80% of which require my oven.

Last night after I pulled the first batch of this delicious beer bread out of the oven, there was a spark and a small flame.  I assumed it was some crumbs hitting the bake element and thought nothing of it.  I put my second batch of  bread into this oven, this time in the form of four mini-loaves and set the timer for 20 minutes.  After 20 minutes the bread didn’t look quite done so I put set the time for another 5 minutes, then another 10.  After 40 minutes, I realized something was up since the mini-loaves had now been baking for nearly as long as the full sized loaf and still weren’t looking done enough.  I stuck my hand in the oven and discovered that it was definitely not 375* in there.

A tiny bit of my soul died.  I mourned the death of my oven and the (probably) inedible loaves of beer bread.

Now, I’m hoping that the bake element just crapped out, and this will be a quick and fairly inexpensive fix.  With any (good) luck, I’ll be back up and baking soon.  However, if it’s not a simple fix like replacing the bake element, I’m going to be out of the game a little longer while I figure out how to afford a new oven/stove along with the condo insurance I wasn’t expecting to have to pay, the $50 parking ticket I got yesterday, and the bachelorette party for my future SIL in two weeks.  I guess it’s a good thing I’m now saving $20 a month on my car insurance after switching to Progressive this weekend.

And hey, maybe I can get a good how-to-figure-out-what’s-wrong-with-your-broken-electric-oven post out of this tragedy.

5 thoughts on “199. Girl Can’t Bake

  1. Pingback: 200. Enchilada Spaghetti « Girl Can…

  2. Pingback: 231. A Thanksgiving Story (with a Make It Monday Recipe) | Girl Can

Leave a Reply

