200. Enchilada Spaghetti

Ohhai!  Welcome to my 200th post.  What better way to celebrate than with a delicious recipe that I came up with all on my own.  Booya crossing an item off the culinary bucket list!

So what do you do when you have a serious enchilada craving, a broken oven, no tortillas, and a wicked tight budget? Well, you get creative with the ingredients in the house of course!  And so I present to you….

 Enchilada Spaghetti.
(photos to be added when I get home)

Here’s what you need:

  • Whole wheat spaghetti (I used half a package
  • 1 small to medium onion, chopped
  • 1 T butter
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • About 2oz Monterey Jack cheese, cubed
    (I used what I had left of a block I think it was about 2oz)
  • ½ c. enchilada sauce
  • Cilantro, paprika, or other seasonings of your choice.
  • Cheese, avocado, sour cream, etc for topping

Here’s what you do: 

  1. Cook the spaghetti according to the package
  2. Melt butter in a sauce pan and sauté the onion for a couple minutes. 
  3. Once the onions have softened, add the black beans, cheese and seasonings.
  4. Once you have a gooey mess of cheese and beans mix in the enchilada sauce.
  5. Plate your spaghetti, pour some sauce on, and top it all with the most perfectly ripened avocado and a little bit of sharp cheddar.

Optional: You could also cook up some chicken or ground beef too add to the sauce if you’re so inclined.

This made about three pretty substantial servings.

In other news, I’m convinced my house is actively trying to force me out of the kitchen.  Not only is my oven broken, but I also no longer have running water in the kitchen (or bathroom) sink. I’m not really sure what the problem is either.  They’re working on the street behind my building, and I’m fairly certain they shut off the water completely at some point in the last two days; however, I shouldn’t still be running at just above a trickle though – especially since the water pressure in my shower is just fine and the toilet isn’t having any issues.

And remember when I mentioned that I’m a terrible housekeeper?  Well that means I was already behind on dishes prior to the loss of running water in my kitchen.  At this point, the dishes are out control, and I’m seriously considering washing them in my bathtub.

2 thoughts on “200. Enchilada Spaghetti

Leave a comment