202. Owning It: Breaking Girl Code

Somewhere out there, there’s a girl code.  I’m pretty sure somewhere in that girl code there is a girl-law which reads, “Thou shalt not date your friend ex.”

The time has come for me to own it.  I have broken the girl code.  I am dating my (former*) best friend’s ex-boyfriend, and sorry, I’m not sorry about it.

I knew the potential ramifications of my decision.  I knew I stood to hurt people.  I knew what I was doing, and I was (and still am) totally okay with that.

Maybe this makes me a bitch, but I’m a happy bitch.  I’m happier than I’ve been in a long time.  I’m being selfish, and I don’t give a damn.  I’ve spent most of my life doing things to make other people happy.  I’m making myself happy, and I refuse to feel guilty about it. 

I’m not trying to go all Mean Girls here, and I am certainly not all about the drama so I’m not going to say much else on the topic.  However,  it had to be said.  I had to say it out loud, and publicly, to really own it.  (And since the boyfriend still refuses to embrace the FB, there will be no Facebook official relationship.  Plus, I’m kind of over Facebook official relationships because Facebook official break-ups suck ass.)

*As a final note, (and this may be to save face and keep myself from looking bitchier than I actually am) the friendship between my best friend and I had been deteriorating for a very long time.  We kept pretending like we were still bff’s, but anyone who has known us for a significant amount of time knew we weren’t.  We’d become like old puzzle pieces that have been damaged by time and moisture.  At a glance we looked like we fit together, but when it came down to it, we had to be forced into fitting together.

Leave a Reply

