205. Goals, Goals, Goals!

Fact: I am a huge fan of goal setting.  Setting goals is a great way to stay focused and motivated. 

Fact: If I had to pick one area that I struggle with on a regular basis, it’s following through on the goals I set. 

Because I think goal setting is so important, I really want to become better at setting goals and seeing them through.  So how do I fix this problem? 

After taking a long hard look at myself I’ve determined two key issues that plague my ability to set goals and follow through on them.

  1. I’m always feeling really ambitious when I sit down to set my goals for the month.  I get really over-zealous in my goal setting.  I set a few too many goals, and I subsequently overwhelm myself trying to keep up with them all.
  2. I am a very visual person, but I usually fail to keep my goals in a place where I see them and am reminded of them on a regular basis.  This leads to my forgetting about them when life gets hectic.

So now I have a new goal.  I’m going to start small and build on my successes.  Each month I’m going to set a few goals for myself – no more than two or three.  I’m going to create a mini vision board for these goals and hang it somewhere I will actually see it.  And since there’s no better time than the present, I’m starting right now.  Three goals for the remainder of November.

  • Get in at least 5 runs.
  • Stain and finish coffee table and end tables.
  • Set 3 quality goals for December.
3 thoughts on “205. Goals, Goals, Goals!

  1. I have the same issue with setting goals. I am way too ambitious and I usually just overwhelm myself to the point where nothing gets done. It really helps me to step back and to choose moderate goals. Also it helps me to be realistic with myself!

    Can’t wait to see what your goals are for December!

  2. Pingback: 220. Goals, Goals, Goals!: Dedicate « Girl Can…

  3. Pingback: 264. On the Importance of Start Small « Girl Can…

Leave a Reply

