213. Grocery Challenge Week 1

We’re at the end of week 1 of my grocery budget challenge. (Side note: for the purposes of this challenge, my weeks are running Wednesday to Tuesday.)  So how did it go?

Well, I stayed almost within my $60 budget.  My grocery trip for the week cost me $61.95.  This isn’t too bad considering there were a few “impulse” buys on the receipt.  Chobani was on sale so I picked up a few of those which I wasn’t planning on buying.  I also had to buy some items to make appetizers to bring to my grandparents’ house.

My meal planning was not as well thought out as I hoped, but it mostly worked out.  Poor planning or changes in plans for a few dinners left me struggling for lunches when I had planned leftovers.  I did make due with what I had and stuck with only eating one breakfast or lunch out. Of course, it was an $9 lunch at Panera, but it was with my friend that I haven’t seen in several months so it was worth it.

I also ended up not making a few meals, but I shifted them to this week which will *hopefully* save me some money on this week’s shopping trip (which I will be embarking on as soon as I finish this post.)

Here’s my current meal plan for today through next Wednesday.  I’m sure things will change.

Tonight: Latkes with applesauce

Thursday: Spinach Lasagna

Friday: Beef and Barley Soup that I pulled out of the freezer

Saturday: We have Nik’s family Christmas get together, but I’m bringing appetizers so I’ll have to buy those ingredients

Sunday: Garlic Bread soup – this was on last week’s agenda

Monday: Shepherd’s Pie

Tuesday: Spaghetti Squash

We’ll see how things pan out this wee.  I’ll keep you posted!

Total so far: $70

Leave a comment