219. Best.ChristmasPresent.Ever

Happy New Year everyone!  So far 2011 has been unexpectedly busy.  So busy that writing my grocery budget challenge results, goal setting and New Year’s Resolutions, and other awesome posts has taken a back seat to everything else going on.  Before I get into that stuff though, I figured I’d share with you what’s been keeping me away.

As you may have figured out, I spent my Christmas on the beach in Mexico with my family.  It was a fantastic time full of fruity drinks, sunburns, delicious dinners, and quality time with the fam.  I was sad to leave, but the real excitement was waiting for me at home – my Christmas present from the boy!

I was dying to know what I was getting from him.  My entire family knew what it was, and they did not hesitate to remind me of this.  I had a hunch, but that just seemed totally unrealistic.  I was wrong.

I came home to a partially renovated master bathroom!

I don’t think I ever posted pictures of my condo except for my kitchen (maybe I should!), but my master bathroom was epically gross – especially the shower.

Disgusting Shower pan

Yummy isn't it?

I also wasn’t sure if that nastiness extended beyond just surface or if there were actual damage to the drywall behind the tile.  I wanted to make sure I had enough money to fix it if there was actual damage so I didn’t use my master bathroom at all.  I have two bathrooms so this disaster wasn’t an issue.

Bathroom Vanity There used to be a tacky gold mirror above that sink.Toilet and Shower Closet

My sneaky boyfriend had my brother build a vanity which he stained.  He cleaned up the tile, fixed the shower basin (It looks almost new!), painted the walls and trim, cleaned the toilet, and cleaned and painted the heater and exhaust fan.

He only had a week – definitely not enough time to finish, and he thought it would be best to let me pick out the countertop, sink, faucet, mirror, and lighting. So after partying away the last minutes of 2010 with our friends, I’ve been helping him.  There have been many, many trip to Home Depot, Menards, and HOBO, but I’ve got everything picked out.  I should have a full functional master bathroom in about two weeks!  I’ll share picture with you then.  (C’mon now, I can’t give it all away.)

I’ve got to say, this is definitely the best Christmas present I’ve ever received.  Of course, I also informed him he can’t break-up with me now because then I’d have to completely renovate my bathroom again.

4 thoughts on “219. Best.ChristmasPresent.Ever

  1. that is hilarious and absolutely AWESOME. partners that are handy are worth at least double their weight in gold. i’m not sure how i managed around the house before jon moved in with me. when stuff like the garage door opener or the dryer quits working or the kitchen sink starts leaking and making a super stinky mess, i really have no idea where to start. i’d probably have to spend (waste) a lot of money on calling professionals.
    enjoy your new bathroom!

    • Yeah, if it requires a hammer or screwdriver, and only those things, I can probably handle it myself, but anything more complicated and I’m useless. I’m pretty sure my dad appreciates Nik’s handiness even more than I do because now my dad doesn’t get a phone call everything something goes wrong!

  2. Pingback: 220. Goals, Goals, Goals!: Dedicate « Girl Can…

Leave a Reply

