221. December Grocery Budget Challenge Final Look

I guess it’s time to look back and see how I faired in my grocery budget challenge.  My challenge was successful in that I stayed under my budget of $250;  I actually managed to stay well under $200.  However, it was less successful in terms of my methods. 

Getting sick half way through the month really threw me off.  I didn’t eat much of anything for about three days, and when I did eat, I was basically scraping something together because I knew I needed to eat something.

I didn’t bother with coupons at all, but I did do some price comparing.  I made sure to check cost per unit and compare the price and size of different brands rather than just grabbing what was on sale or  the name brand.

There was also a lot more dinners out this month.  Since I buy the groceries for dinners in, Nik usually pays for dinners out.  So my food budget was definitely down, but I expect his was probably up.

Here’s how my weekly spending broke down:

Week 1
$61.95 – grocery store
$3.65 – Panera
$8.42 – Panera

Week 2
$53.50 – grocery store

Week 3
$38.47 – grocery store (This was primary supplies for holiday gifts.)
$9.96- Panera
$5.38 – Pazzo’s
$3.05 NYC Bagel Deli

Week 4
None – I was in Mexico.

Totals
Groceries: $153
Fast Food: $24
$177

Overall, I’m satisfied with the outcome of the challenge.  I’m definitely going to continue to work on keeping my grocery budget between $200 – $250.

Leave a Reply

