224. My Holiday Baking Fix

I have to admit, I was a little bummed that spending Christmas in Mexico meant I wasn’t going to get to do my usually obscene amounts of holiday baking.  Luckily for me, the boy throws an annual “Festivus” party so I got to bake my little heart out for that event.

P1010354

Generally I bake way more than necessary for the holidays, and this year was no exception.  I went to town with three different kinds of cookies.

First I made a basic sugar cookie from The Joy of Baking.  I decided not to frost them because, well frankly, my back was starting to hurt and I was running out of time.  I did however roll them out and use my giant tub of cookie cutters on them.

P1010355

The second cookie I made was Homemade Chocolate Covered Mint Oreos from Eat Live Run.  Holy shit cow!  You need to make these right now.  Seriously, stop reading this, click that link and get baking.  You will not regret it.  I don’t really even like Oreo Cookies, and these are probably the greatest sandwich cookie I’ve ever had in my mouth!

The final cookie I made was Chocolate Crinkles using my mom’s recipe.

P1010365

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

Ingredients
1/2 c. canola oil
4 squares unsweetened chocolate, melted
2 c. sugar
4 eggs
2 t. vanilla
2 c. flour, sifted
2 t. baking powder
1/2 t. salt
Powdered sugar (about 1 cup)

Do It

  1. In medium mixing bowl or stand mixer bowl combine oil, melted chocolate, and granulated sugar.  Add eggs one at a time beating well after each addition.
  2. Add vanilla
  3. In separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt.
  4. Slowly add dry ingredients to chocolate mix.
  5. Chill dough several hours or overnight.
  6. Roll dough, about 1/2 T worth, into balls and roll in powdered sugar
  7. Bake 8 –10 minutes.
  8. Makes about 80 cookies.

I’ve found the best way to chill the dough is in the fridge overnight in the mixing bowl.  I chilled it in plastic wrap this time and the dough was a mess to roll.  I had to put it in the freezer about half way through each batch.

I really love this particular recipe because the cookies are very brownie like.  I tore my house apart trying to find my copy of this particular recipe I love them so much.

Now if you’ll excuse my, I need to clean the disaster that is my kitchen, and you have some baking to do.

6 thoughts on “224. My Holiday Baking Fix

  1. Pingback: 225. Bring on the Nog « Girl Can…

  2. Pingback: 227. The Dreaded Recipe Rut « Girl Can…

  3. Pingback: 235. Chocolate Banana Pancakes « Girl Can…

Leave a Reply

