225. Bring on the Nog

Along with baking a boatload of cookies for the boy’s Festivus party, I agreed to make homemade eggnog.  Honestly, I have no idea what possessed me to agree to this.  We were at a Christening luncheon; I was talking to our friend Erin; one thing led to another, and I had committed myself to making homemade eggnog.   I suppose it was the challenge that had me agreeing.  Because here’s the thing, I don’t even like eggnog.

Or at least I didn’t… until I tried this stuff.

Originally I planned to use this recipe from Cooking Light, but after reading the reviews, I changed my mind.  People just didn’t seem impressed.  A quick Google search landed me on Alton Brown’s Eggnog recipe.  The reviews were stellar, the recipe had a short ingredients list, and the directions were pretty basic.  Plus, Alton has never let me down before.  I tripled the recipe.

Ingredients

eggnog

  • 12 pasteurized eggs**
  • 1 cup sugar, plus 3 tablespoons
  • 3 pints (6 cups) whole milk
  • 3 cups heavy cream
  • 9 ounces spiced rum
  • 3 teaspoons nutmeg
  • 4 tablespoons vanilla

Do It

  1. Separate the eggs.
  2. Place the egg whites in the bowl of a stand mixer and beat to soft peaks. With the mixer still running gradually add the 1 tablespoon of sugar and beat until stiff peaks form.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, beat the egg yolks until they lighten in color. Gradually add the 1/3 cup sugar and continue to beat until it is completely dissolved. Add the milk, cream, rum and nutmeg and stir to combine.
  4. Whisk the egg whites into the mixture. Chill and serve.

eggnog and cookies

Notes

For food safety purposes the pasteurized eggs are really important.  Any time you’re making a recipe that calls for eggs which will not be cooked, you should use pasteurized eggs.  I don’t know if it was the pasteurization process or just this particular batch of eggs, but they were a bitch to separate.  Finally, the original recipe didn’t call for vanilla, but I found the rum flavor was a bit heavy so I added the vanilla to tone it down some.  Subbing vanilla sugar probably would have been delicious as well.

I absolutely loved this eggnog.  I’ve always thought eggnog to be absolutely repulsive, but I will definitely be adding this recipe to my holiday repertoire.

2 thoughts on “225. Bring on the Nog

Leave a Reply

