234. Slow-Cooker Saturday: Spicy Black Bean Soup

As I mentioned last week, I love me some black beans.  Even more than black beans, I love black bean soup.  There’s a super quick and easy black bean soup recipe I usually make, but since I hear slow-cookers make great soup, I decided to give it a try.  Added bonus: I got to try out my new immersion blender.

I used this recipe as my inspiration.

Spicy Black Bean Soup

Ingredient
Basic Black Beans
1 can crushed tomatoes
2 cups low sodium vegetable broth
1 bag frozen corn
1 large red onion, diced
3 gloves garlic, minced
1/2 T chili powder
1/2 T cilantro

Do It

  1. Make the basic black beans overnight.
  2. Add everything else to slow cooker and stir.
  3. Cook on low for about 8 hours.
  4. Use immersion blender to puree some of the black beans to thicken the soup. (You can also scoop some of the soup mixture into a blender and puree a few cups of soup.)
  5. Top with shredded cheddar cheese, avocado, and sour cream 
  6. Enjoy!
One thought on “234. Slow-Cooker Saturday: Spicy Black Bean Soup

  1. Pingback: 239. Slow Cooker Saturday: Enchilada Casserole | Girl Can

Leave a Reply

