235. Chocolate Banana Pancakes

Saturday morning I ran 2.25 miles.  This is the furthest I’ve run since The Hot Chocolate 5K back in November.  I figured I’d get a jump start on my official dedication to fitness in the month of February.  I decided to reward myself with some pancakes.  I make pancakes pretty frequently though; so in order for them to truly be a reward, these pancakes needed to be something special.  I figured I’d start with my basic whole wheat pancake recipe and play around with it.  I opened my baking cabinet and was reminded of the surplus of cocoa powder I purchased prior to my holiday baking spree.  

Well, hello Chocolate Banana Pancakes…

(Side note: My pancakes are always burned looking and unattractive.  If I ever manage to make a nearly perfect pancake I will photograph it and use that same photo over and over again anytime I talk about pancakes.  Until then, I have no photo.  Sorry, I’m not sorry.)

Ingredients

1 ¼ c. Whole Wheat Flour
1 t Baking Soda
2 T Sugar (or sweetener of choice)
1 ½ T Cocoa Powder
1 c Milk
2 Large Eggs
1 T Vanilla Extract
2 medium bananas, smashed

Do It!

  1. In medium mixing bowl, combine dry ingredients.
  2. In a separate bowl combine milk, eggs, and vanilla.
  3. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients.  Add smashed banana and mix until combined.
  4. Pour ¼ c of batter onto skillet and cook over medium heat.  Flip when bubble start to form on the top.

Makes about 12.

I was going to make a peanut butter glaze for my pancakes, but I was starving and exhausted so I just spread peanut butter directly onto the pancakes.  They were ah-may-zing!  The chocolate flavor was subtle and delicious, and the peanut butter made them even better! 

You should definitely make these for breakfast tomorrow or even better, brinner tonight!

Leave a Reply

