237. Apple-Pear Breakfast Risotto

So, today I was going to post about the new approach I’ve been taking to meal planning recently, but then I made this breakfast risotto last night and all bets were off.  I knew I had to share this recipe immediately so you can all make this tomorrow morning for weekend breakfast or maybe for a Super Bowl Brunch…

Originally I intended to make this in the slow cooker, but I totally dropped the ball on preparing it Wednesday night so it would be ready to cook on Thursday.  I loved the idea so I went ahead and prepared it like “normal” risotto.

Apple-Pear Breakfast Risotto
Inspired by CrockPot 365

Ingredients
7 c no sugar added/ unsweetened apple juice.
¼ c butter
1 ½ c Arborio Rice
1/8 t nutmeg
1/8 t ground cloves
1/8 t ground ginger
½ T cinnamon
1/3 c brown sugar
2 medium apples
1 pear

Do It!

  1. Pour apple juice into saucepan and heat over medium-low heat.
  2. Melt butter in stock pot.
  3. While butter is melting, chop up one apply. Add rice and chopped apple to stock pot.  Stir to coat rice and apples with butter.
  4. Add ½ c of apple juice.  Stir and add nutmeg, ginger, and cloves.
  5. Continue to add juice in ½ c increments.  After each addition, stir until the liquid is absorbed into the rice before adding more juice.  You do not need to stir continuously but do stir frequently.
  6. Between additions of juice, chopped the second apple and the pear.
  7. After the last portion of juice is added stir in the second apple, pear and brown sugar.  Cook for 5 minutes, stirring frequently, to soften apples and pears and blend in brown sugar.

This dish was ah-may-zing.  I loved it!  I served it as a side dish with French toast and sausage links.  The risotto itself is a bit sweet so I thought it would be a bit much as a main dish.  However, that wasn’t going to stop me from bringing leftovers as my lunch.

In an effort to add a little bit of fat and protein to my leftovers, I brought along a slice of smoked gouda cheese.  I had no idea if this would be any good, but I’m generally a fan of the apple-cheese combination so I figure it was worth a try.  Holy ohmigod deliciousness Batman!  I didn’t think this risotto could get any better, but I was wrong.  Dead wrong.  The smokiness of the cheese provided the perfect savory balance to the fruity sweetness.  I hadn’t really been looking for a way to make this a main dish, but I found it.  I don’t know how much cheese you should add to the whole thing since I just added a slice to one serving, but I would say add a little bit at a time until you get a good balance.

I also think chopping up some sausage links and mixing those in would be a great way to turn this into a sweet and savory main dish.  I don’t care how you serve it, but you should definitely get on this ASAP!

PS.  I finally updated my Training Page!  My plan for the WI Half Marathon on May 7th is now posted!  I’ll be updating my weekely progress there.

2 thoughts on “237. Apple-Pear Breakfast Risotto

  1. Pingback: 241. A New Twist on an Old Friend « Girl Can…

  2. Pingback: 250. Brinner: Breakfast Fried Rice « Girl Can…

Leave a Reply

