246. Slow Cooker Saturday: Slow Cooker Falafel

I’m a day late on this week’s slow cooker Saturday because this week’s recipe actually got made on Saturday of this week! Unbelievable I know!

This week I made SlowCooker Falafel from CrockPot365.  I followed the recipe exactly except subbing out some spices and stuff I didn’t have.  I used 1/4 c of dried minced onion because I was out of onion (ridiculous!).  I didn’t have coriander or cayenne pepper so I used a heaping teaspoon of paprika.  Otherwise it was game on.  I cooked mine for just over 3 hours, and I did flip them half way through.

I got 8 falafel out and served them in whole wheat pita pockets with a simple cucumber dill sauce.  I wanted to have some red onion in there too, but again, no onions in the house.

Cucumber Dill Sauce

Ingredients
1 c. diced seedless cucumber
1 c. sour cream or plain Greek yogurt
1 T. dried dill, (heaping)
salt and pepper to taste
lemon juice to taste (optional)

Do It
Combined all ingredients in a small bowl.  Cover and chill for 20 – 30 minutes.

I was really impressed with this recipe.  I’ve never made falafel before, and I was surprised how similar these tasted to falafel I’ve gotten at restaurants before.

The cook time on this recipe is a little awkward to me.  It’s something that would be difficult for me to make for dinner during the week unless I got a timer for the slow cooker.  I’m considering making a batch one evening this week to have for lunch though.

If you’re a fan of falafel, I would definitely suggest you try this out!

One thought on “246. Slow Cooker Saturday: Slow Cooker Falafel

  1. Pingback: 248.A Fragmented Blur « Girl Can…

Leave a Reply

