250. Brinner: Breakfast Fried Rice

I meant to this post this, like, last Wednesday, but like I said, last week totally got away from me. 

Remember a few weeks ago when I made that super awesome breakfast risotto?  Remember when I change my meal planning strategy to included Brinner Thursdays?  Well, the combination of those two things is where this recipe started.  I needed a Brinner Thursday recipe, and after the breakfast risotto turned out so freaking awesome I started thinking about other non-breakfast foods I could adapt into a breakfast food.  I’ve already made breakfast pizza, breakfast casserole, and breakfast risotto for dinner.  Then it hit me, breakfast friend rice!  How could I go wrong?

(Okay, I thought of a lot of different ways I could go wrong.  I even informed the boy that while having a girlfriend who likes to cook keeps him being very well fed, it also means he is subjected to my “experimental” dishes that could go horrible awry.  He has accepted his fate.)

Let’s cut right to the chase shall we?

Breakfast Fried Rice

Ingredients
5 small Yukon Gold Potatoes, chopped bite-size
10 slices Bacon
6 oz Carrots, chopped
6 oz Broccoli, chopped
5 eggs
2 c cooked brown rice
1/4 c Kikoman Low Sodium Soy Sauce

Do It
1. Fry bacon in wok.

2. Once the bacon is done remove from the wok and set aside to cool.  Pour out the majority of the grease leaving a little bit for stir-frying the veggies and rice.  Once the bacon has cooled you will want to coarsely chop it.

3.  Add the potatoes to the wok and stir fry about 5 minutes.  Add the carrots and broccoli stir-frying another 5 minutes or so.  Remove the veggies and set aside  (I like my veggies still a little crisp.  If you like them softer stir-fry a little longer.)

4. Crack eggs into the wok and scramble.

5. Add chopped bacon, veggies, and rice to the eggs and mix thoroughly.

6. Pour soy sauce onto mixture and stir until it evenly coats the rice, veggies, eggs and bacon.

So I realize that, for the most part, this recipe isn’t really that different from regular fried rice, but bacon eggs and potatoes make it breakfast in my mind and that’s all that really matters now isn’t it? But if you want to get on board with the breakfast fried rice I say, “Do it!”  I would definitely recommend using low sodium soy sauce.  The bacon adds quite a bit of saltiness so even with the low sodium this dish was a little on the salty side.  I could only imagine what it would taste like with the full sodium soy sauce.

The great thing about fried rice is it’s so quick, easy and versatile.  It’s a great way to get in a variety of veggies.  Even though I only used carrots and broccoli here you could add any variety of veggies you like.  Think about it like you would think about adding veggies to an omelet.   I loved this.  I don’t know that I loved it any more or less than “regular” fried rice, but it will be made again.

Leave a Reply

