265. Teach a Man to Fish

Remember that old saying, “Give a man a fish, and he’ll eat for a day.  Teach a man to fish, and he’ll eat for like.”

I absolutely hate that cliche actually.  Maybe it’s because I come from a family that lives to terrorize the local fishermen on our lake.  However, as I was making dinner Monday evening, the old saying came to mind.  I may hate to fish, but I do love to cook.

Honestly, I’ve always kind of taken for granted the ability to cook.  My mom is a Family and Consumer Science teacher.  I grew up learning to cook.  I have a distinct memory of the first apron my mom made me (She also taught sewing for a while.)  I remember making some sort of stained-glass Jell-o in a park

district cooking class.  I remember hating cooking because I hated having to clean up after myself.  (Okay, I still hate cleaning up after myself.)  I remember cooking for myself in college because I was used to eating home cooked dinners.  I remember falling in love with cooking about a year ago.

Tonight I made this for dinner…

Girl Can Do Mac n Cheese

I haven’t been grocery shopping yet this week.  I had no idea what to make for dinner this evening.  I wasn’t even sure I had enough to to actually consturct a legitimate meal.  It’s amazing what you can do with 1/4 of a bag of noddles, 1 cup of frozen mixed veggies, some shredded cheese (I kid you not, I had 4 diference bags of shredded cheese all with les than 1/4 cup left.), some milk, and a little skill in the kitchen.

(Apparently some form of mac n cheese is also my go-to throw it together dish.)

Cooking is such a valuable skill.  It’s a shame more people don’t learn how to do it.  It’s a shame my mom’s class is thought to be a “blow-off” class by so many students.  It’s a shame people rely on pre-made meals and convenience foods.

Leave a Reply

