270. Ravenswood Run 5K 2011 or How I Kinda-Sorta-Not Technically PRed

May has started off with a bang.   Sunday I ran in the Ravenswood Run 5K – my first race of the season/ year, and it couldn’t have been a more perfect event.  This race is already one of my favorite races in Chicago.  It’s a small race through the streets of a gorgeous city neighborhood.  The course is more than adequate in size.  The event is well organized.  And all the proceeds go back into the neighborhood. 

The weather was perfect.  I can only hope, pray, and beg that the weather for my half marathon on Saturday is as perfect.  It was warm and sunny but not too hot.  There was a nice breeze to keep you cool without making you work harder.  And there wasn’t a drop of rain!  (Which is a lot when it’s been cloudy and rainy for the last two weeks.)

And as if perfect weather at my favorite race isn’t enough, I may have PRed as well!!!!

It wasn’t a PR in the sense than I beat my best 5K time ever, but it was a definite PR in my book.  Let me explain…see, my first 5K was the Pumpkins in the Park 5K in 2009.  I was a nervous wreck.  I was terrified to even sign up.  I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to finish.  That I would suck horribly.  That I would be a total joke.  I was all but forced into signing up by my friend Sarah.  (She may or may not have actually said “Sign up or I’ll do it for you.”)  Because I was so scared of sucking it up I trained HARDCORE for that race.  By the time the 5K roll around, I could have taken on a 10K.  Sarah and I knocked that race out of the park.  We finished in 29:30 with an average pace of 9:30.  It was an amazing first race, but didn’t leave a whole lot of room for improvement.  My second 5K was less than a month later so I finished slightly slow, but still with a killer time.

In fact, I haven’t been able to touch that time since.  Here’s my race times history:

Pumpkins in the Park 5K October 2009 29:30 (9:30) – First 5K ever!

Girls on the Run 5K 2009 30:10 (9:44)

Santa Shuffle 5K December 2009 45:02 (14:32): I ran this race for fun with friends.  It was the first race for one of the girls so we took it slow and steady with her.

Ravenswood Run 5K April 2010 32:22 (10:25)

Chicago Rock n Roll Half Marathon August 2010 3:00:00

PAWS Run for Their Lives 8K September 2010 51:27 (10:21)

Pumpkins in the Park 5K October 2010 31:29 (10:08)

Hot Chocolate 5K November 2010 41:13 (13:16):  This was another race I ran for fun with a friend who was run/ walking her very first 5K.  We probably would have finished faster, but this race was an epic disaster on the whole.

Ravenswood Run 5K May 2011 30:18 (9:45)

So while this weekend’s wasn’t my fastest time, or quickest pace, ever, it’s the fastest race I’ve had in a year and a half.  It may not be a PR in the purest sense, but I’m calling it a PR and celebrating!

5 thoughts on “270. Ravenswood Run 5K 2011 or How I Kinda-Sorta-Not Technically PRed

  1. Pingback: 271. 2011 WI Half Marathon or How I Absolutely Positively Did PR. « Girl Can…

  2. Pingback: 272. My Plan to Be Able to Carry my Own Suitcase Come Cruise Time « Girl Can…

  3. Pingback: 319. Habitat for Humanity 5K Race Recap or the Biggest Running Lesson I’ve Learned to Date | Girl Can

  4. Pingback: 321. Weight Watchers Wednesday: Session 2 Week 6 | Girl Can

  5. Pingback: 337. 2011 in Review: Dedicated | Girl Can

Leave a Reply

