296. Weight Watchers Wednesday: Week #9

Last week’s weight: 156lbs
This week’s weight: 157.6lbs
Change: +1.6lbs

Reflections

I walked into weigh in today without high expectations.  Actually, I considered skipping it all together.  It’s that wonderful time of the month again where I want to eat my face off, and truth be told, I pretty much did.  For the first time since starting Weight Watchers (vacation week aside), I used all of my weekly allowance points and dug right on into those activity points.  And as an added bonus, I did a less than adequate job tracking this week.  Thankfully, it was a good week for activity points – clocking in at 24.  However, after I weighed in, I realized that my expectations were actually a little higher than my results.  I definitely wasn’t expecting a big loss, or a loss at all really, but I certainly wasn’t a 1.6lb gain – maybe a small gain, half a pound or so, but definitely not 1.6lbs.  For the first time since joining Weight Watchers, I was actually disappointed with myself.  It wasn’t the gain that disappointed me so much as the reasons I gained.

This past week was actually kind of a disaster.  I didn’t meal plan or grocery shop over the weekend which left me floundering for meals and running to the grocery store most days of the week.  It also had me eating lunches out.  There were more dinners out, convenience meals, and more processed foods than I typically eat.  I also let my ridiculous PMS cravings run rampant.  I definitely could have found better ways to keep those at bay.  (Two Snickers bars and a bag of Goldfish crackers over a course of two days is NOT the way to go.)  I know I can drop those 1.6lbs because I’ve done it before.  However after last night’s meeting and some self-reflection, I’ve realized how crucial this 1.6lbs, and the next 2.8lbs actually is for me.

Last night’s meeting was about plateaus, and while I’m not in a plateau per se, the information was actually really applicable to me.  We talked about how plateaus are normal, but often times they aren’t actually “true” plateaus.  The weight loss halts because you’ve loosened up.  You’re not tracking as diligently.  You’re estimating portion sizes more.  You’re over estimating your activity points.  You’re sticking to the program, but not as closely as you did in the beginning.

 Where I’m at now, is pretty much my lowest weight since sometime in college.  This is the point I got to in 2009 before I started to relax my tracking.  This is also, on some subconscious level, the point where I start to self-sabotage.  This is the point where I start to slack.  This is the point where I decide I’ve done enough and can loosen up.  156lbs isn’t a bad weight for me – it’s not ideal, but it’s far better than pushing 200lbs – but it’s not my goal.  Last week, I talked about how my driving force is to be able to say I accomplished this: that I set a goal, busted my ass, and achieved it.  This is why I am most disappointed in myself this week. 

I’m going to break through this mental block I seem to have when it comes to getting past 155lbs.  I mentioned above the next 2.8lbs being really critical for me, but I didn’t mention why.  2.8lbs puts me at 154.8.  This not only marks 10lbs lost since starting Weight Watchers, but it also marks my lowest weight since I began my weight loss journey in January 2009.  And it’s less than 15lbs from my goal.

So, this coming week, my goal is to tighten things back up.  I’m going to be diligently tracking all on my eats, pen and paper style, on my little Weight Watchers tracker thing.  I’m going to make sure I’m accurately calculating portion sizes (which includes buying a new battery for my food scale.)   I’d love to be able to be at 154.8lbs by next week.  I definitely think it’s possible, but I’m going to “keep it real” and give myself two weeks.

Also, starting next week, I’m going to combine Weight Watchers Wednesday with the ever popular What I Ate Wednesday.  I figured it will be a great way to help keep me on track, and show all of you how I spend my points!

6 thoughts on “296. Weight Watchers Wednesday: Week #9

    • Definitely. You win some you lose some I guess. The only thing that really matters is that you pick yourself back up and keep going. Here’s to a kick ass week!

  1. I forgot to mention this earlier, but it’s a good thing you gained in a week where your weight was going to be iffy anyway. It’s much better to have a small gain during the week of your period than some other random week where you didn’t follow your plan at all.

    You have learned some great lessons from this experience and you know now that in order to get below 155 and get to your lowest weight, you have to really really work at it. No more slacking and track everything that goes in your mouth! That’s the key to the program.

    I know you can do it and I’m happy you shared some great lessons that helped me as well!

    • I definitely agree with your first comment. I think gaining this week impacted me a lot more than it would on any other week. Like you said on g-chat 1.6lbs during the week of your period isn’t bad – especially when I think about the fact that when I was on my bc, I would gain 5lbs or more and need to wear larger pants if I wanted to be comfortable.

      However, I know that last month my period gain was less than half a pound so I can’t completely justify my gain with “well I was on my period.” It gave me a really good base to compare and make me really consider the situation in the big picture.

      I’m really looking forward to this week, and I’m hopeful I’ll be able to report a weight below 155lbs next week!

  2. Pingback: 300. Weight Watchers Wednesday: Week #10 | Girl Can

Leave a Reply

