326. Pumpkin Swirl Bread

I’ve been in a funk lately.

It seems that the older I get the more I seem to struggle with seasonal affective disorder.  Maybe it’s because my daylight hours are now spent in an office building rather than walking all over campus.  Maybe it’s because Chicago seems to get drearier and drearier every year.  Maybe it’s just because I’m getting older.  I don’t really know.  All I know is it seems to get worse every year.

About two weeks ago it hit me hard.  (That would be about the same time I fell off
the face of the interwebs.)  I had zero motivation to do anything.  I didn’t want
to cook.  I didn’t want to clean.  I didn’t want to get out of bed.  I didn’t want to work out.  I was eating like garbage.  I didn’t weigh in at Weight Watcher’s last week.  Blogging certainly wasn’t going to happen – not that I would have had anything to blog about anyway!

Thankfully, it seems I’ve come out of it.  Last Wednesday around 11:30, I had a sudden
burst of energy and the desire to clean my kitchen.  Sleep totally isn’t important right?  I didn’t really expect that this energy would stick around, but for the most part it has.

I still haven’t managed to work out (oops), but I finally did some meal planning and grocery shopping and cooked a “real” dinner last night.  I also made this bread.  Oh man, this bread.  If I hadn’t already found my way out of my SAD-little hole, this bread would definitely drag me out of it.

I made this for my Weight Watcher’s meeting tonight.  We’re having a holiday recipe potluck.  I actually made this in my bread maker, but my mom was kind enough to convert the recipe for everyone who doesn’t have a bread maker on hand.  Both set of instructions are below.  I can’t promise it will turnout without the bread maker, but I trust my mom so I’m sharing it so you can *hopefully* enjoy the gloriousness of this bread with or without a bread maker.

Pumpkin Swirl Bread

Girl Can Do Pumpkin Swirl Bread

Reminiscent of the Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon Swirl bread I loved as a kid, this pumpkin-laced bread is swirled with pumpkin puree, butter, and pumpkin pie spices.

Serving Size: 1 slice Total Servings: 16
Points+ per Serving: 4
View on Recipage

Ingredients

Dough

  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 cup + 1 tablespoon warm water
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 ¼ cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 ½ teaspoons yeast

Filling

  • ¼ cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 T butter
  • ¼ cup unpacked brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons pumpkin pie spice

Directions

Without a Bread Maker

  1. Combine 1 cup all-purpose flour, yeast, brown sugar, sugar, pumpkin pie spice and salt in mixing bowl.
  2. Add water, oil and pumpkin puree.  Beat 2 minutes at a moderate speed until
    smooth.
  3. Stir in whole wheat flour with a wooden spoon.  Stir in remaining all-purpose flour.  Dough should be a knead-able consistency.
  4. Knead dough 5-10 minutes.
  5. Let dough rise until double in size.  Punch down.
  6. Cut together butter, brown sugar, and pumpkin pie spice until crumbly (filling ingredients)
  7. Roll the dough out into a 12” long rectangle that is the width of your loaf pan.
  8. Spread pumpkin puree onto dough
  9. Top with sugar and spice mixture.
  10. Roll up and place seam side down in greased loaf pan.
  11. Let rise 20 minutes.
  12. Bake at 375 for 40 – 45 minutes.

With a Bread Maker aka Easy Mode

  1. Add dough ingredients to the bread maker in the order recommended by the manufacturer and run the bread maker “dough” cycle.
  2. Once the dough is complete pre-heat the oven to 375.
  3. Cut-in butter with brown sugar and pumpkin pie spice until crumbly
  4. Roll dough into 12” long rectangle and spread with pumpkin puree.  Sprinkle on sugar and spice mixture.
  5. Roll up dough and place seam-side down in a loaf pan sprayed with cooking spray.
  6. Bake for 40 – 45 minutes until crust is golden brown.
3 thoughts on “326. Pumpkin Swirl Bread

  1. I will be making this recipe this weekend!

    you had me at 1. breadmaker and 2. pepperidge farm cinnamon swirl bread (aka, my favorite store made bread EVER besides frozen garlic bread).

    NOM.

    Ps we made bread from cake flour today in my lab. it was… interesting.

  2. Pingback: 327. Goals, Goals, Goals: November in Review. | Girl Can

Leave a Reply

