335. Weight Watchers Wednesday: PointsPlus 2012 Week 2

Did you know yesterday was Wednesday?  Apparently I missed the memo.  I’m going to blame it on the shortened work week – or the fact that I’m just a flakey blogger.

Last week’s weight: 152.6lbs
This week’s weight: 153lbs
Change: +.4lbs
Total Loss: -11.8lbs, this session: -3.8 lbs

Reflections

So, weigh in…  Obviously there was a gain.  I know that .4lbs is nothing.  I also know that it was most likely water weight since I was feeling super bloated Monday and Tuesday morning.  I spent all day Tuesday drinking water and trying to flush out the bloat.

However, in the interest of owning my negative emotions and learning to be a little harder on myself, I was incredibly pissed off and frustrated by this gain.  The previous week I finished with my total points in the red.  I had negative points, and I still lost 1.2 pounds.  This week I still had at least 10 points left, and I gained .4lbs?  what.the.hell.  I’m not trying to beat myself up over .4lbs, but I do want to reflect on last week, see what I can do differently this week, and set my goals accordingly.

The one major thing I noticed was I drank a lot more than usual last week.  I had a beer on four different days.  It’s not like I went crazy or something; it’s just that it was a lot more than normal.  So this week, it’s no booze.  Truthfully, this shouldn’t be a problem for me as I’m not a big drinker anyway.  I have no issue turning down drinks at parties and social settings as long as I don’t have one.  I can have one beer while watching a game at home or even at a bar, but for some reason once I have one drink in a larger social/ party setting, I have a lot more trouble saying no to the next one.  And while I could have one beer watching the game at home or at the bar, I don’t really feel it’s necessary.

The other thing I want to do is make sure I stick to my 26 daily points every day except Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.  Last week, I was over my daily points most days – mostly as a result of the drinking – even though I did have a small balance of weekly points left.   I know there’s no way I’ll stick to 26 points on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day, but I can mitigate that damage the rest of the days this week.  It seems that for me, things work out best when I use my extra points in one fell swoop rather than little by little over the course of the week.

I also need to get my activity points in this week.  Last week I came in shy of my goal of 25, but this week there’s no excuse.  I have tomorrow and Monday off work and my gym (allegedly) finally opens on Monday.  I have plenty of time to do some epic work-outs.  I’d like to hit 25 activity points for sure if not 30 this week.

My meeting is “going dark” next week so I probably won’t have a weigh in post next week unless I find another meeting/ location that works for me, but I will come back and set some goals for the following week.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “335. Weight Watchers Wednesday: PointsPlus 2012 Week 2

  1. You’re so right NOT to beat yourself up about this “gain” girl! Also think about it this way… My leader always tells us that if we have a rough week & go over the 49 + our daily points, and still lose that week and are shocked, to prepare that the following week might be a small gain. Just something to think about! Also you know this, but our bodies are weird things. 🙂 Sometimes the scale just does what it wants!

    Great plan of attack for Christmas festivities. I have been doing decent this week considering there has been a cookie buffet at work or a potluck almost every day. Argh. Christmas Eve & Day will be a challenge. Italian family = lots of pasta, lasagna, and more carbs, carbs, carbs. Hoooooray.

  2. No booze week! whoooooo!

    Honestly though, I know you aren’t trying to beat yourself up – but it’s the holidays. It’s the hardest time of the year to lose. And you came off a fantastic loss the week before! But the previous week you were around 26 points every day and I think that really made the difference.

    So stick to it this week!!

Leave a Reply

